Skip to content

Saturday Snippets!

October 16, 2010

I’ve been back in Tunbridge Wells a week and a day – back to the quieter part of my trip – completely different to New York, but just as valuable in its own way. I’ve met a couple of reading and writing deadlines, gone for lots of walks, and watched lots of episodes of Lark Rise to Candleford while catching up with the 1000+ items on my google reader and browsing the good internets. And there is indeed lots of good stuff out there this week!

The other thing I’ve done is spruce up the look of the blog. You like? I do. It was time for a bit of a change. I’m working on a new header, but in the meantime I’ve got a bird from Central Park watching over things.

This butternut squash and apple cake (above) from La Tartine Gourmande looks incredible, don’t you think? I’m kind of in awe of the design on top. I wonder how she did it. It must be a stencil, right?

These 3 city walks (1. 2. 3.) by Hilda Grahnat are something special. The city in question is Malmo, Sweden, and it’s looking bright and crisp and perfect. I’d like to magic myself there right now!

And on my return, this magical chocolate cake with only 4 ingredients (5, if you count a dollop of cream to serve, as I do) over at Stone Soup, looks like the perfect afternoon treat to tuck into. Mmm …

Maybe after cake, I could play with these CIY (colour it yourself) pillows by Wolfie and the Sneak.

And then I could plan the week ahead with this fab watch and diary book (below) by Wonjune Song!

What is it about owl and squirrel and cockatoo table lamps that I adore? No idea, but I do, and this new owl lamp from West Elm can add itself to the wishlist. Sadly (or luckily – one or the other) they don’t ship outside the US, so I will just adore it from afar.

Since getting back I’ve been been noticing stores I had previously thought were only in the States – Urban Outfitters, American Apparel, I even saw a man on the train yesterday with a bag from Whole Foods, and surely enough they have 5 UK stores! I’m most excited by American Apparel, though. I bought 3 t-shirts and 1 jersey while I was in New York and I love them to bits – the fabric and the cut and fab colours. Just between you and me, I may never be satisfied by another t-shirt again.

There’s a good reading recommendation from Clare over at Three Beautiful Things for anyone who is enjoying Downton Abby (which I am, thank you iplayer!) and likes Harry Potter (which I do, very much): Conrad’s Fate by Diana Wynne Jones. I’m going to keep an eye out for it.

I’m also going to enter this fantabulous giveaway over at Dottie Angel. The prize is four gorgeous books from UPPERCASE, and to enter you must email or comment before October 20th and say what book has inspired you.

Right then, I spy some blue sky – I’m going out to chase it! Happy weekend! xo

2 Comments leave one →
  1. October 17, 2010 10:50 pm

    my mouth is watering now from looking at that first picture. and at the thought of wholefoods. there’s a giant store in kensington i’ve not been to yet (if you also wanted to cram that in on friday afternoon)

    can’t wait to see you again
    x

    • Francesca permalink*
      October 18, 2010 1:59 pm

      Sounds like a plan Leonie. Hurrah! xo

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 56 other followers

