Skip to content

My Little Buttercup

March 22, 2009

I really do really love so many of My Things, particularly my books. I love how much they say about me, and to me, even if I’m the only one who knows it.
I got thinking about this the other night. I was in Newtown catching up with a friend. After dinner we wandered down King Street, in and out of the second hand bookshops when I spied in Elizabeth’s bookshop a beautiful edition of Alexandre Dumas’ The Three Musketeers. Usually, with such a lovely edition, I might have picked it up and held it appreciatively as I toyed with the idea of purchasing it, but in this case, I couldn’t do it. I couldn’t even consider it for one second. You see, it would have been a betrayal. I would have been cheating on my own, much loved, often read, movie tie-in Puffin edition from 1993.

p32100452

Usually I hate movie tie-in editions of books. I think I only have one other. But when I look at this I only have good, swashbucklingly happy feelings. This is the book that taught my thirteen year old self about codes of honour among soldiers, and that if anyone ever calls my horse a buttercup, they don’t mean it as a compliment. I didn’t see the movie until a year or two later, so when I imagine the story I don’t picture Kiefer Sutherland or Charlie Sheen, thank heavens. But I do remember liking the movie, mostly because it was so much fun. And I do love the cover of this book. There’s adventure round the corner. They know it, and so do I.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Weez permalink
    March 24, 2009 10:07 am

    Do you know what book I was thinking of last night that I’d love to read over again, The Princess Bride! What a great book. Do you have it?

    x Love the blog

    • maybenextweek permalink*
      March 24, 2009 12:46 pm

      I do indeed have it. Speaking of Buttercups! Another sensational swashbuckling action adventure classic.

Leave a Reply

