Skip to content

Where The Wild Things Are

March 26, 2009

The trailer for the Where The Wild Things Are movie is out today, and it’s just so good and thrilling and delightful. I could watch it over and over and over again. The music is “Wake up” by Arcade Fire, and its great, perfect, it really lifts it to another spine-tingling level.

When I was little, I thought the book was scary but brilliant. My opinion has never really changed. A couple of years ago my boss was pregnant and her husband asked me to recommend some favourite children’s books. Where the Wild Things Are was at the top of the list, but later that week he came back and said it was too scary. And I said No, it’s not, it’s exactly the right kind of scary with a ton of amazing thrown in. Books about fluffy kittens chasing butterflies in the garden are good too, but this is about fear and hope and  adventure. A level of scary is not a bad thing. It is essential.

wildlarge

I haven’t felt this excited about a movie since The Lord of the Rings. The anticipation leading up to each Boxing Day release was brilliant, and fun. It was an event in a way not many movies manage. I can’t wait to see Wild Things in October. I’m so glad it’s not CGI. I’m so glad Spike Jonze has (or seems to have) given it the time and consideration and love it deserves.

Leave a Reply

