Skip to content

What came first, the bunny or the egg?

April 12, 2009

Ah, Easter, sweet Easter. For me this means a long-weekend (time off to myself and with family), lots of cooking, reading, etc, taking things at a leisurely pace and, of course, eating chocolate. Easter chocolate is something that still holds a special place in my heart; always has, hopefully always will. I thought I’d take this opportunity to talk about five chocolate eggs that mean something to me.

Easter chocolate

The cheap egg: You know, the one that tastes plasticky and bad, but you eat it anyway. Why? Maybe it was a freebie with your coffee or a token from a workmate. Yes, but you don’t have to eat it, do you? Of course you do. But, Why? Because you can’t not. Because to do otherwise would be to insult and anger the Easter bunny gods. They sit up there in the clouds, wearing their togas, ready to smite us with lightning bolts made out of rock hard fondant. Ok, maybe I made that last bit up, but it could be true, and you still have to eat it.

The Cadburys Creme Egg: This was, at one time, my favourite chocolate egg. I remember once, when I was about twelve or thirteen, taking my pocket money down to my local Waitrose and buying a twelve-pack. It came in an egg carton, which was unbelievably cool to my young self. I remember how the lady at the checkout gave me a look as if to say, ‘you’re going to eat all of these yourself, aren’t you?’ I remember smiling at her, totally guilt free, totally happy; ‘Yes, I am.’ I kept them under my bed and had one a day until they were all gone. Which is nothing compared with what the guys from Pimp that snack did.

Haighs eggs: These are all about quality. The queue trailing outside the store every year says it all. This is chocolate worth going to trouble for. You see the line and hesitate for just a second as you weigh up the options. Easter with or without Haighs? You get in line, certain you’ve made the right decision. Well done.

Cadburys Mini-eggs: These are now my favourite budget eggs. Solid chocolate covered in a crisp speckled candy shell. Perfect to pop into your mouth one at a time, the crisp crunch followed by creamy chocolate. Perfect to decorate cupcakes with. Perfect. And, alas, seemingly missing from the supermarket shelves this year. Although Target has them in their catalogue, so there is still hope. That’s ok, if I don’t get them I can console myself with…

The Lindt bunny: Not an egg, I know, but a delightful Easter chocolate. It’s the gold foil and bell that separates it from the other bunnies. The chocolate is smooth and delicious. I always start with the ears.

Bunny

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

