Skip to content

Art lesson

May 11, 2009

I was thinking about what I wrote yesterday, about the anxiety that comes with writing, of being afraid to mess up, and I remembered how a high school art teacher of mine once saw me staring at my blank canvas – then he came back half an hour later – it was still blank, and I was still staring at it. He gave me a piece of advice he had been given by one of his art teachers.

It’s possible to spend hours, days even, staring at a blank canvas, afraid to mess it up. So whenever you’re about to start something new, if you feel that hesitation coming on, take your brush and some dark paint. Then mark the canvas, a big, bold brushstroke.

Already wrecked

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Yas permalink
    May 15, 2009 11:36 am

    That’s really good advice. I need to do that with writing. Just start putting words on the page…then start putting them in order.

    cat yam jumping soldier plate few super hello moustache.

    Like that.

    Hmmm.

  2. maybenextweek permalink*
    May 15, 2009 2:36 pm

    Thanks Yas! I think you’re on to a winner 🙂
    A super cat who is a master of disguise, perhaps?

  3. Spastic in Dallas permalink
    June 5, 2009 6:59 am

    love that. that’s me – spot on.

    • maybenextweek permalink*
      June 5, 2009 4:19 pm

      Hey Dallas, yip, I think it’s true of a lot of things – although getting over that initial block is still hard, it’s certainly been helping me since I remembered it!

Leave a Reply

