Skip to content

Chocolate cake

June 16, 2009

I went to a chocolate tasting at the Lindt cafe in the city tonight. The invitation said, “join us to learn about the art of fine chocolate tasting and how premium quality chocolate is made, watch Lindt’s Master Chocolatier at work and enjoy tasting the latest creations from the world’s finest chocolate maker.” Oh, alright, if you insist.
It was fun, and interesting, but above all it was chocolatey. Despite the goody bag we were all sent home with, I still found myself buying some individual Lindor chocolates – raspberry and peppermint and peanut butter. Such was the power of the store. In lieu of having you there with me, follow this link to a really good chocolate cake.

Chocolate cakeI made it a couple of weeks ago. I needed it for the next day and made it late in the evening when my attention span really wasn’t up to much, but it worked really well. It’s not overwhelmingly rich – it’s light, luscious and delicious and really easy to make. Especially when you replace the blueberries with Smarties like I did. Now, time for sleep/a sugar coma. Sweet dreams.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. June 17, 2009 10:24 pm

    Oh YUM!! Your cake looks amazing!! (and I think the use of Smarties rather than blueberries is an inspired choice!).

    I’m so jealous that you have a Lindt cafe…then again I guess it would be hard to stay away…be sure to eat some lovely dark chocolate for me next time you’re there!

    • maybenextweek permalink*
      June 18, 2009 9:09 am

      Hee. I will! I’d never actually been inside the cafe before – it always looks so crowded – so it was a real treat. And we got to try the two new flavours in the Excellence range – Ginger and Roasted Almond – both delicious!

  2. June 19, 2009 12:36 pm

    Oh how fun! I love Lindt!

Leave a Reply

