Skip to content

Three things

June 23, 2009

Sometimes I’ll see someone on the train on their way into work, sniffling and sneezing and snuffling, and I think, silly person, why don’t you just stay home and rest and get better, surely whatever it is you have to do can wait.

So on Friday night my nose started running. On Saturday I sneezed but didn’t feel too bad. On Sunday I was worse, but convinced myself that if I spent the day quietly, at home, I would be fine for work on Monday. And on Monday, yesterday, I thought I was feeling a little bit better, I thought I was sure to improve throughout the day, so I pulled myself together and went into work, because I had things to do. And I spent the day at my desk feeling sick and miserable and self-conscious, because I was sniffling and sneezing and snuffling, and getting progressivly worse.

So now, I am still sniffling and sneezing and snuffling, but I am home, which makes a huge difference for many reasons, but three that stand out are:

Reading and dozing, dozing and reading – It’s winter, but today is sunny and my chair is in just the right spot, nice and warm. I’m reading Wicked, by Gregory Maguire, which is a ripping good yarn, and easy to get back into if I close my eyes for five minutes.

Tea and pottering – Yesterday, despite the fact that I very much felt like having a cup of tea, I couldn’t muster the enery to get up and go to the kitchen until about 4.30. It was just so much easier to stay sitting down. Pottering about and getting a cuppa today seems much more achievable.

Blanket and dvd’s – Sitting under a blanket, watching a couple of episodes of a favourite series – Dr Who, The Gilmore Girls, Firefly, The Forsyte Saga, the list goes on… all suitable viewing.

Time to relax and get better.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Yas permalink
    June 23, 2009 1:17 pm

    Sounds like a lovely day, and the best medicine! Get well!

  2. June 29, 2009 9:57 pm

    Sounds like a great ‘sick’ day. I hope you’re feeling much better now!!

    • maybenextweek permalink*
      June 30, 2009 8:36 pm

      Hey Yas and Tracey,
      Yes, taking the day was definitely the right thing to do. I am feeling better now, with only a lingering cough keeping me company. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

