Skip to content

Stranded at the drive-in

July 7, 2009

I just got home. I should have been home an hour ago. I met a friend after work for dinner, she’s been in town for the last few months on a work exchange, and she’s heading back to the UK next week, otherwise I would have rescheduled, cause my energy level this week has been low, and I’ve been feeling ragged about the edges. Anyway, it turned out she was pretty tired too, so we opted for a quick catch-up and hearty bowls of ramen before we each headed home.

I should have been home an hour ago. But a couple of stops before mine, the train ahead broke down, we were moved off ours to the station platform, and a bit later we were told to go and wait for a replacement bus. Half an hour after that we were herded back to the station to catch a train. And now I am home.

I know these things happen. It could have been worse. It was cold, but at least it had stopped raining. The station staff were uninformed and disorganised, and they didn’t make us hot cocoa (am I asking too much?), but at least they were polite. And as I stood there I was grateful for a couple of things:

My mobile phone. I didn’t use it, because all I would have done was call people who would have worried, and there’s no use in that. But knowing it was in my bag, a little safety net, so I could call a taxi if need be, was a good thing.

Pride & Prejudice & Zombies. Yes, you would want a book if you were stuck on a desert island, and you would want one too if you were stuck, unexpectedly or not, at a train stop. I’m about halfway through Pride & Prejudice & Zombies by Jane Austen and Seth Grahame-Smith. It’s quite fun, and I was glad to have it with me. Although it was a bit unsettling to be reading about zombies while standing in a crowd of tired, disgruntled commuters. I let my imagination run around the possibilities for a while. The headline: Zombie attack in suburban Sydney! They ate the rail staff, now they’re coming for you!

The promise of a glass of red. I’m drinking it now.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. July 7, 2009 11:30 pm

    Oh those horrible trains can impact so heavily on the best of our plans…especially when those plans are as simple as getting home on time.

    I don’t think you’re asking too much for a hot cocoa at the station…it would be quite civilised I would think…perhaps you should provide some feedback on that? 8)

    I enjoyed your reflections on what you were grateful for – sometimes the things we most appreciate are not the most extravagant items… I haven’t read Pride & Prejudice & Zombies – though I have been tempted to pick it up…and yes red wine is a medicine that can cure so many ills…

    Wonderful post!!

    • maybenextweek permalink*
      July 8, 2009 1:47 pm

      Hey Tracey,
      Yes, I think hot cocoa and maybe a bit of a sing-song would’ve been just the ticket, uniting together in adversity and all that – or maybe I’ve just been watching too many romanticised 1940’s and 50’s dramas lately – I suspect Foyle’s War and Miss Marple are to blame 🙂
      I recommend Pride & Prejudice & Zombies – I’m a big Austen fan and it’s giving me many a chuckle!

Leave a Reply

