Skip to content

The camera is dead. Long live the camera.

July 18, 2009

Alas, poor Olympus FE-210! I loved it, reader. A camera of infinite possibility, of most excellent lightness. It hath taken the desired picture a thousand times.

Yes, indeedy, the Olympus FE-210 is dead (or close enough). Long live the Canon 450D SLR. The Olympus been a fantastic camera, great to travel with, the ideal point-and-click. But I’d been starting to feel a bit limited by it and then it started freezing and overheating and generally not behaving, so I decided it was time to upgrade.

Orange trumpet vine

I’m really excited by the Canon. It was a big deal to buy it, as it was a bit beyond my budget. But, after much researching and to-ing and fro-ing I was sure it was the one I wanted – something I can use from the get-go, but grow with as well – an investment. Earlier today, I was feeling so intimidated by it, sitting in the box, quietly waiting for me. But then I got started and, well, just taking snaps in the garden was wonderful. I’m sure it’ll take me a while to fully figure out the potential, but that play and discovery is half the fun.

Pink Hibiscus

So, I do like to name things, and as we’re going to be together quite a bit, I’m thinking the Canon should be no exception. I’m not sure of gender yet, but I think it’s a girl. Any suggestions?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. July 20, 2009 9:23 pm

    Oh new camera joy!! Excellent indeed…I can’t wait to see more of your work together… 8)

    …(I love those flower photos)…

    As for a name…Well, mmm….not too sure on any suggestions yet. I’m not so good with naming objects…though I am quite partial to ‘Grace’ …

  2. July 20, 2009 9:25 pm

    Maybe Daisy?

    • maybenextweek permalink*
      July 23, 2009 12:56 pm

      Hey Tracey! Rich, lovely to see you in comment-land!

      Thanks for the name suggestions! Now watch and marvel as I over-analyse them…

      Grace is such a beautiful name, and it’s always intrigued me because I associate it with two very different qualities. Primarily I think of it as a beautiful gift, to behave gracefully, qualities embodied by the three graces – or as an expression of thanks – it’s quite a calm thing. Then there’s Grace Kelly – beautiful and aloof. But then I think George and Gracie, and Will and Grace – zany, creative women.

      Daisy has a special significance for me, as they were my mums favourite flower – very bright and warm and friendly. Then I think of the song, ‘Daisy, Daisy, give me your answer, do,’ which I had to sing in a school musical revue once. Then, of course, there’s poor old Daisy from The Great Gatsby…

      See how much you’ve given me to think about? I’m not sure yet if either is quite right for the camera, I’m still pondering, but I love that you picked two names that already mean something to me – very insightful!

Trackbacks

  1. My Place & Yours: My Secret Weapon « Maybe Next Week

Leave a Reply

