Skip to content

Love be with you

July 26, 2009
tags:

A couple of days ago I checked in to read the latest posts in Flux Capacitor, a delightfully named blog by the warm, talented and insightful Maggie May, and she had just posted something that rang very true for me, The prayer of the Nonbelievers Who Believe in Love. As someone who was raised Catholic, but realised very early on I was agnostic, I find I still miss and feel real nostalgia for certain aspects of being part of a church, specifically, the sense of community. I also believe in prayer, but not in the Lord most prayers are addressed to. Maggie May’s solution is simple and elegant – Lord becomes Love – and the puzzle pieces fit into place. It excludes no one and includes everyone.

Sissinghurst Gardens Archway

Yo. This Is The Prayer of the Nonbelievers Who Believe In Love

Babies in their bassinets, in cancer wards, NICU, NeuroUnit, homes, without the spiritual ferocity of love translated into the constant presence of touch.

love, i give myself to you, to your pain, your suffering, your humble servitude. Love, I ask
you to give me the strength and will to reach out and make a difference, even when I am
afraid of looking ridiculous, unforgiveably sincere, unflatteringly pedantic.

(Love, hear our prayer )

Elderly people stuck in nursing home and long care facilities and hospitals and hospice who
feel scared, humiliated, abandoned, ridiculed, abused or generally given the raw deal at the end
of see in the face of an elderly person the face of my future, to see the face of a human being,
not just a set of ideals I’m already sure I don’t agree with.

Love, i ask you to help me reach out to the elderly in my community. Love, please help me
the elderly go before me in line, even when I do not want to because my children are fighting
and I’m late to work. Love, help me to smile, to touch a hand, to pick up a fallen object, to
help bring friendship to older people, not leaving them out of the community because of prejudice,
not excluding them from aside comments, jokes, knowing looks, or other forms of human bonding,
but instead becoming more increasingly inclusive.

(Love, hear our prayer )

Mothers and Fathers dying before their children are grown. Michelle L, with metatastic
breast cancer and son Connor and daughter Chloe and husband, to every woman and man
having to say the hardest goodbye.

-Love, I ask you to help me to have the courage to reach out even when I am afraid of saying
the wrong thing, of insulting, or of embarrasing. Help me to remember that connection is
not embarrasing, that love is not redundant or uneccessary for anyone, and that I, just as
much as anyone, can offer it. Help me to be unselfish and face my own fears of death or
leaving my children as I see this pain and hear this agony.

( Love, hear our prayer )

Soldiers wounded, exploded, shot or disabled, soldiers mentally unstable or spiritually ravaged,
soldiers young and middle aged and old, soldiers man and women, and Love help us, children
and adults. Soldiers who never make it home.

Love, I ask you to help me find ways to show soldiers my gratitude and compassion. Small
though they may be, help me to remember that nano is sometimes the largest compound.

( Love, hear our prayer )

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Spastic in Dallas permalink
    July 28, 2009 9:05 am

    when i had to find a god of my understanding, i too came to this conclusion. god is love.

    when i had to sit an think about all that the higher power in this universe is or was or needed to be, it always came back to love.

    when i love someone, i want the world for them: health, happiness, joyousness, peace, blessings, laughter. that is love. love is compassionate, kind, non-judgmental, patient, humble, honest. that’s what i needed my god to be. that’s what i could believe and hold on to and have a relationship with.

    not everyone will understand, but some do.

    i’m grateful to have come across this blog today. save for one other person i know, you are the first to publicly share this feeling. and it’s always nice to know there are others like you in the world.

  2. Spastic in Dallas permalink
    July 28, 2009 9:15 am

    one more thing, more often than not, i don’t tell people i’ll “pray” for them. i send them love and light.

    • maybenextweek permalink*
      August 1, 2009 10:25 am

      Hey Dallas, I’m so glad you liked the post. I’m not sure about other agnostics out there, but I find that one of the pro’s and con’s of not belonging to an organised religion is the lack of a specific language that is used to communicate belief. While this gives me freedom, I also often find it difficult to articulate my feelings. ‘Prayer’, for example, is a word that is pretty well exclusively associated with organised relgion, with the idea of directing thoughts to a deity – so I understand what you mean when you say you send people love and light.

  3. July 30, 2009 9:36 pm

    Wow! I would describe myself as someone who abandoned organised religion quite early on in life, but I’ve always believed in the power of love. These words are quite lovely and they certainly ring true for me.

    I love the realness of the experiences described…makes me feel very grateful for what I have already in life.

    • maybenextweek permalink*
      August 1, 2009 10:36 am

      Hey Tracey, yes, me too – I think reading something like that really helps us focus on the positives, and to be more alert to the courtesy and respect due to others.

Leave a Reply

