Skip to content

The Tassie food diaries Pt.3 (honeyhoney)

September 1, 2009

Honey Honey, how you thrill me, ah-hah, honey honey
Honey honey, nearly kill me, ah-hah, honey honey
I’d heard about you before
I wanted to know some more
And now I know what they mean, you’re a love machine
Oh, you make me dizzy!

Tasmanian honey

I’m sorry, I couldn’t help myself. My Honey Honey song of choice would usually be this one, by Feist (which has one of my favourite ever music videos – it’s absolute magic), but it was ABBA playing in my head when I first cracked open the tin – joyous and playful and shiny and bright.

Tasmanian honey on spoon

Tasmania is a bit famous for honey, and rightly so. I usually like my honey runny, but when I tasted this particular variety I was instantly won over by its sweet, creamy smoothness. A heaped spoonful smothered over a piping hot crumpet bought specially for the purpose. Just bliss.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. September 6, 2009 3:38 pm

    I hope you had an opportunity to try Tasmanian leatherwood honey, as well. It has a haunting back note reminiscent of caraway. Just lovely. But I must say, that meadow honey does look splendid, as well.

    • maybenextweek permalink*
      September 6, 2009 4:18 pm

      Hey there, yes I did get to try the leatherwood honey, and I brought back a little tin of it as well, although the meadow honey is slightly more to my taste – the leatherwood is quite strong!

  2. September 7, 2009 12:31 pm

    Your preference for the lighter honey seems consistent with your views on scones expressed in your August post. I’m guessing you have more of a sweet tooth than I do. I like the leatherwood honey because it’s less sweet. I prefer my cream on top because I want heaps of cream and barely a hint of jam. (May also because I first enjoyed a real cream tea in Cornwall, which you note is a cream-on-top region.) Nice that there are so many options.

    I’m a culinary historian with a real fondness for both Australia and England, so I’ve enjoyed many of your posts.

Leave a Reply

