Skip to content

Springtime, Green fields, Black cow

September 6, 2009

One of the great things about traveling with different friends, is that they invariably have their own holiday habits, or traditions. So it was with Yas, who liked to reflect each day on the Top 3 favourite things about the previous day.

It actually ended up being quite useful, as I find it too easy to let things wash over me, and not really take them in. I suppose that’s why I like photos and mementos, not just because they’re lovely images or objects, but because they’ll provoke a memory and can connect me to a time and place that might otherwise be lost. And, of course, that’s why I started this blog!

Tassie sheep mural

So thinking up a list each day was great, and at the end, on the plane home, we each came up with a Top 3 of the whole trip.

My number 1? The week can be neatly divided in two – rain and sun. I was prepared for the rain, and although there were too many times where the camera had to stay in the bag, we still got out and about and saw pretty much all we wanted to see. But then, our first day in Launceston and the sun was shining and it was warm but not too warm – it was perfect Spring weather.

Number 2: The wide open spaces. The fields and trees and sheep. I got to see daisies growing in the grass (never seen in my neck of the woods, and something I feel such strong nostalgia for), holly trees, snowdrops and daffodils. It was wonderful.

Number 3: That amazing dinner at The Black Cow.

This marks the end of the Tassie posts – now onwards to new things!

Coffee from Salamanca markets, Hobart

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

