Skip to content

Save the English Breakfast Tea, Save the World!

September 27, 2009

As I’m sure everyone and their dog knows by now, Sydney was overwhelmed by a dust storm on Wednesday. We’ve had a couple more since, but Wednesday was the big one, the one that made many people, including me, think for a moment, ‘Apocalypse?’

Sydney dust storm

Given that most of us had never seen a dust storm, it wasn’t entirely unreasonable for the apocalypse to cross our minds as a possibility. The sky was glowing. Orange. The wind was howling. It was eerie and freaky and strange. But in hindsight, what really interested me about that morning, was how blasé everyone was, how everyone just got on with the day. I know I’m a creature of habit, but still you’d think my first priority on waking would be to figure out what the hell was going on. But what did I do? I put the kettle on. I was thinking about the possibilities – bushfire, apocalypse, zombies – but instead of leaping into action, I made a nice cuppa. In truth, making a cup of tea is something I do particularly well, especially when there’s something else that needs doing. Stuck on an essay? Make a cuppa. Need to clean the house? Tea will sustain you, preferably sipped slowly as you figure out a plan of action. And now, I have found, in the event of a potential Armageddon – tea is what you need. English Breakfast to be precise, with milk and an extra sugar for fortification. Chai, Jasmine, Earl Grey – none of them are up to the task – sorry.

But my question is, what should I have done? If it had indeed been the end of the world or a big disaster or something. What do they do in the movies? In Shaun of the Dead they went to the pub. When the earth was about to be destroyed in The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy they… went to the pub. Hmm. Still, I think my tea-making instincts would stand me in good stead. The five-minute delay wouldn’t change anything, yet would steel me against what was to come. And if I was packing a bag of supplies – a survival kit – tea would certainly win a spot.

Tea will save us all.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. September 27, 2009 6:05 pm

    As far as I am concerned, you did everything right .. you are a kindred spirit ……a nice cuppa in the face of adversity 🙂

    Maddie x

    • maybenextweek permalink*
      October 21, 2009 10:22 am

      Thanks Maddie, a nice cup of tea usually does do the trick in most circumstances!

  2. October 21, 2009 6:15 am

    I probably would have gotten on my knees and prayed…then had a cup of Lady Grey. Honest, have you tried it? You will abandon English breakfast, primise!

    • maybenextweek permalink*
      October 21, 2009 10:24 am

      I have tried it, and it’s fine, and there are many teas I adore and yet – Good old English Breakfast is what I always return to, especially if I’m facing adversity of any kind!

Leave a Reply

