Skip to content

Patience, Jewels, Cloudspotting

October 16, 2009

Three beautiful things for a beautiful Friday evening.

1. I sit on the step in the back garden and my cat ambles up wanting his ears scratched. I take the opportunity to brush him, something he used to hate, swishing his tail in warning, then taking swipes at the brush and my hand. Now he sits patiently with his back to me, occasionally angling his head so I can reach under his chin. When he has had enough, he ambles away to a sunny corner and flops down.

2. From my vantage point on the step I spy 3 bright ruby-red jewels, the first strawberries of the season. I pop one in my mouth while it is still warm.

Garden strawberries

3. I lie on my back and watch the occasional clouds, something I used to do almost every day in my teens. It’s late in the day and the ground is still warm but the light isn’t glaring. I let my mind wander and before I’ve realised it the sun is setting and the clouds have multiplied, only now they have frocked up in pink and violet and golden yellow. They are racing across the sky – perhaps they have somewhere to be.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. October 17, 2009 6:47 pm

    that sounds just like my afternoon today, except with dog not cat. I also scored a sun warmed fresh strawberry (had to fight the dog for it though, for some reason he thought it was worth a lick…)

    • maybenextweek permalink*
      October 18, 2009 12:16 pm

      Hey Verimaz, I like your blog! It’s good to know someone else is enjoying the sunshiney Sydney strawberries.

  2. October 30, 2009 8:27 pm

    Oh this is just lovely… it’s so important to take a step back from all the busy things we do in life to just take it easy for a while and appreciate the richness of what we have.

    • maybenextweek permalink*
      November 4, 2009 11:21 am

      Thanks Tracey, yip, the simplest things are often the best and the things that keep us sane!

Leave a Reply

