Skip to content

My Place & Yours: On the Shelf

October 18, 2009

I’ve never blogged a meme before, but when I saw this one up at Meet Me At Mikes, I decided to join in. It’s a bit nervous-making (I don’t know why!), but here goes.

Little boxes on the shelf

This weeks theme is ‘On the Shelf,’ and I quickly realised that our shelves are in serious need of a tidy. This one, in the hallway, usually has a stack of books on it, but I moved them to make way for my little boxes, which usually sit together on a terribly dark and crowded shelf in my bedroom. Some are from friends, others are travel souvenirs.

The boxes are sitting on a little set of drawers, which were a birthday present from my friend Bekk, who was my housemate for 2 years while we lived in run-down terrace in Newtown. The drawers are ceramic yellow with blue flowers, and used to brighten up our living room.
The green box and dish are made from Malachite, my Nanna on my Mums side brought them back from South Africa about fourteen years ago. Soon after receiving them I dropped and broke the lid of the box, but my mum glued it together and now, well now I love it even more.
I bought the painted box from a market stall in Prague in 2000. It’s an image by Alphonse Mucha, a Czech Art Nouveau painter. His images were all over Prague, the most beautiful city I’ve ever visited.
My friend Emma bought me the Venetian Mask box and although I associate her with it I also tend to think of my own visit to Venice, even though I was only 11 at the time. I remember watching the gondolas but not wanting to go out in one because it was raining, and I remember going to see a glass blowing shop, as well as the masks, of course.
I bought the china box in Melbourne, in a small town near the sea. I can’t remember the name. When I bought it I thought it was a fish on the lid, but then I thought it might be a dress. Either way, it belongs to a seaside town in Melbourne, where there was a lovely antiques shop and good fish and chips.

So much history in such little boxes!

8 Comments leave one →
  1. October 18, 2009 8:33 pm

    Wow. That is a lovely lovely shelf and even lovelier explanation! I don’t know why you were a bit nervy, because you write in such a lovely voice. Keep up the writing, Miss! Thank you for shelfing along with us! x

    • maybenextweek permalink*
      October 19, 2009 8:43 am

      Thanks Pip! It’s been good fun reading about everyone’s shelves and discovering new blogs in the process!

  2. October 19, 2009 11:54 am

    How lovely – sweet little boxes with their sweet little stories!

    • maybenextweek permalink*
      October 19, 2009 12:04 pm

      Thanks Sara, I have a bit of a thing for little boxes, as you might be able to tell!

  3. October 19, 2009 8:34 pm

    I love the little boxes and the stories behind them. very pretty green colour too

    • maybenextweek permalink*
      October 20, 2009 3:23 pm

      Cheers! Yes, I think polished malachite is one of the prettiest stones.

  4. October 21, 2009 6:13 am

    Don’t remind me…shelves that need clearing, stores that need cleaning, cupboards that need tidying…each with its gems. I say it pays to be organised – maybe next week!

    • maybenextweek permalink*
      October 21, 2009 10:21 am

      Hee – yes – one of the upsides of tidying is rediscovering those gems and yet I find myself saying – not today, I’m far too busy, maybe when I get back from New Zealand in a couple of weeks.

Leave a Reply

