Skip to content

My Place & Yours: My Secret Weapon

November 7, 2009

So, pausing New Zealand posts for a moment to consider this weeks theme for the My Place and Yours meme, which is Your Secret Weapon, chosen by theme queen My Bricole.

I confess, the theme gave me pause. Because, you see, my secret weapon isn’t really a secret. But what the hey, it fits the other criteria: it’s close to my creative heart, I know I can go to it in a pinch and it has never (so far!) let me down.

IMG_1262

I know I wrote about getting her a while back, but this is Daisy Fforde, my brilliant Canon 450D. The name Daisy was suggested by Rich in the comments (Tracey suggested Gracie and I tried both out for a while, but it was Daisy that stuck. Although I still reserve the right to call a future pet Daisy if I so choose). I decided she needed a last name as well and as I was deep in the midst of (and loving) Jasper Fforde’s Thursday Next novels at the time I went with Fforde. I like it because Daisy doesn’t just take pretty pictures, she’s an action camera too, she’s got a bit of Indiana Jones about her.

When I have her with me I am always more aware of my surroundings, always looking for the beauty, or the quirky, the movement and the stillness. And when I am short of ideas, it is often Daisy Fforde who gets me back on track.

For more secret weapons, head over to Meet Me At Mikes…

P.s. Please don’t judge me by the Twilight books in the background. They just stand out because of the covers. The Odyssey’s in the shot too! Middle English Lyrics, The Great Gatsby, Jeeves and Wooster! Look! I have good taste! Honest!

8 Comments leave one →
  1. November 7, 2009 6:02 pm

    Actually I noticed the Harry Potters, but as I have both those and the Twilights in my collection, I find your taste exceptional πŸ™‚ I love that you have a camera named Daisy Fforde, she sounds like a wonderful secret weapon.

  2. November 7, 2009 6:32 pm

    props for choosing canon! Furthermore, Daisy is a great pet name. Our family labrador was named Daisy πŸ˜‰

  3. November 7, 2009 9:59 pm

    thoughtful post. i love my camera too although i need to spend more time getting to know her. i know what you mean about seening things differntly when accompanied by your trusty camera. like her name

  4. November 7, 2009 10:23 pm

    Daisy Fforde is the perfect weapon. I understand why she is such a special thing. I unfortunately don’t have a camera any where near as special and know what a difference it would make if i did!

  5. mybricole permalink
    November 7, 2009 11:52 pm

    Nice choice! I love my canon too!

  6. November 8, 2009 6:57 am

    Daisy is lovely! Super chunky and super good at her job I think! It’s funny, but everyone seems to have a Twilight somewhere on their shelf! I have a copy by my bed – but it’s Max’s! I haven’t read them yet! Noting the Harry Potters and the Penguin Classics too! Cute photo of you Miss!

    • maybenextweek permalink*
      November 9, 2009 12:25 pm

      Aussie waffler: Yes, the Harry’s are there too, but they’re nothing to be ashamed of, whereas the Twilights still make me cringe/feel slightly ashamed that I had to read them all!

      Janie: Daisy is a good pet name! Though I think in my case it’s going to be for a cat. I have other names planned for future dogs πŸ™‚

      Midge: Thanks! I still need to spend heaps of time getting to know Daisy, there’s heaps she can do that I haven’t figured out yet. That’s partly why I just got the one (basic) lens to begin with. I want to have that all figured out before I progress.

      M*: Yep, she really has made a difference. My old camera wasn’t up to much, so I was quite happy when it kicked the bucket so I could justify the new purchase!

      MyBricole: Yay Canon! Great choice of meme, theme queen!

      Pip: Thanks! I think it’s the first photo I’ve posted of myself. I took it just after a haircut, which is why it looks nice and tidy. Usually it’s a wavy, frizzy monster! Enjoy Twilight!

  7. November 10, 2009 11:07 pm

    I absolutely adore her name Daisy Fforde – it’s just so perfect and I can tell that it fits with your whole philosophy… 8)

    …(Love the picture of you too!!).

    Oh I would never, ever judge someone else on their book collections – yours looks just perfect!! I think eclectic mixes are the best… I’m much the same way. There are so many lovely books across so many different and combined genres, that it would be cruel to leave any of them out!! πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

