Skip to content

Birds, Ink and Love

November 13, 2009

So, what to buy for a wedding gift for my good friends Lou and Tim? It took me a while to figure out. I knew I wanted to go with something personal, not practical. I wanted something simple that felt as if it might have come from a story or from nature, two things which mean a lot to Lou and Tim. I searched far and wide, in shops and online and then I remembered paper boat press. I’ve loved the work of Brisbane-based Kylie Johnson since I first discovered her Christmas bird decorations in the Queensland Art Gallery shop last December. If you’re not familiar with her work check it out, especially if you’re shopping for Christmas ornaments. Oh my, they are lovely. Anyway, I hopped onto her online store and lo and behold, there they were.

paper boat press birds

They were perfect and… sold out. So I sent a hasty email to Kylie who swiftly replied to say she had some ready for the kiln and they could certainly be ready and sent to me in time for the wedding. What a star!

I also wanted to try my hand at a wedding zine to give instead of a card. I’d never made a zine before – I’m a long-time fan, first time maker. I’ve been wanting to try them for a while – what seems like ages ago I bought myself the book How To Make Books, which is such a beauty itself, with clear, well illustrated instructions. I decided to keep the wedding zine simple (less chance of stuffing up), so I went with the most basic 8 page format.

For the cover, I decided to try a lino print – something I haven’t done since school but I always love seeing. I’d forgotten how good the lino smells and the pleasure of cutting out the image and rolling on the ink. Sticking with the bird theme (Louise loves birds, when we lived together she brought along her favourite, poohead, who was totally bald and slightly mad), I went with two lovebirds, facing each other, one on the front, one on the back.

lino print birds linoprint birds

I managed to forget to take a picture of the finished cover, but the birds were on the gold paper on a shimmery deep blue background.

Tim’s a big fan of boardgames (he’s even created one) so I filled a scrabble board full of wedding words. In the envelope next to it is the story of their meeting and falling in love, in fairytale form.

wedding zine scrabble boardI also put together a mix cd of love song dedications. Lou and I used drive all over Sydney, going hither and thither and for a giggle (and for all the awesome 80’s tracks) we’d often listen to the love song dedications on Mix 106.

wedding zine - love songs

And that’s it! I think they liked it all, I hope they did. As for me, now I’ve done the first one, I’m keen to try some more zines.

The wedding itself was magnificent, the festivities ran over several days, which is definitely the way to do it, because by the end everyone had made friends and were so relaxed. When If I get married, I hope I can get my nearest and dearest to come away for a few days.

Tim and Lou are such a unique pair, so perfectly matched and they love their lives and love all the things that brought them together, many of which were represented in the wedding. They met when Lou joined the local ice hockey team, of which Tim was captain and the wedding was held four years to the day after that first meeting. So after the ceremony and before a double decker bus took us all to the reception, they hired the rink for everyone for an hour, but before we joined them, they did their wedding waltz on ice. It was sensational. I bawled. I’m welling up now just thinking about it. There were many moments that had the waterworks flowing, most of all during the speeches, when Tim’s especially had us all going as he talked about Louise (particularly us single girls, who talked together the next day and said with one voice ‘who’s ever going to say such wonderful things about me?’ I was glad I wasn’t the only one feeling so, well, alone).

But, moments of heightened singleness aside, it was wonderful. The couple were radiant and everyone had a brilliant time. The next day, most of us went to Kinloch Lodge, which is about an hour and a half out of Queenstown. If you’re ever in that neck of the woods, do yourselves a favour and book a night there – it’s beautiful, as is the view from the lodge.

the view from kinloch lodge

3 Comments leave one →
  1. November 13, 2009 3:24 pm

    Wow, beautiful, beautiful zine. What an incredibly thoughtful gift.

    And lovely wedding stories. It sounds so nice, and having festivities over a few days is such a good idea. I’m feeling all warm and fuzzy now!

  2. November 15, 2009 11:43 am

    How gorgeous and thoughtful. I bet they will cherish these beautiful gifts forever!

  3. November 17, 2009 1:26 pm

    That sounds like such a beautiful wedding, and your gifts are absolutely divine and strike straight at the heart. What a wonderful friend you are!! 8)

Leave a Reply

