Skip to content

My Place & Yours: My Collection

November 21, 2009

Alrighty, I didn’t get to posting last weeks meme until the last possible moment (last night), so am going to the other extreme this week! The theme for today is My Collection, brought to us by theme queen Kate from Fox’s Lane.

Kate says:

I want to see a photo or photos of what it is that you collect.
Then if you feel like it you could let us know what your collection rules are;
Does it have to be green? Does it have to be from another country? Does it have to be second hand or a gift? Does it have to be old or complete?…
What constitutes a collection for you? Is it more than three of the same thing? Is it rare things?
Is your collection ongoing or is it complete?
…what’s your story?

Hmm, I have a few collections of things, after all I am a ridiculous hoarder, but there is only one that I cultivate as a proper Collection with a capital C (actually, that’s not true, I just thought of a couple more, but let’s focus on the one, yes?). Usually I wouldn’t pull them out until the first weekend in December, but here they are:

Yes, I collect Christmas decorations. I have done since I was fourteen, and bought the little wooden one that opens up, with Merry Christmas written on the doors in different languages. I was on holiday with my folks in Switzerland and just fell in love with this shop that sold all manner of wooden decorations. Since then, whenever I have travelled, I’ve kept an eye out for my Christmas souvenir. I love that when Christmas comes I have reminders of where I’ve been, and friends I’ve seen. The collection in the photo includes painted eggs from Prague, a stack of Shakespearean books from Stratford Upon Avon, a tree from Bath, a sheep from New Zealand… There’s more where that came from, some are gifts from people I’ve visited, who have then sent them to me for Christmas. A friend visiting from the UK bought me the koala, she said I needed something from home in the mix.

Last year, I visited Berlin, and found a shop that sold nothing but Christmas decorations. I went a little nuts:

The heat from the candles makes the characters spin round. It’s absolutely magical and that’s what Christmas is about, right?

To have a look-see at other peoples fabulous collections, head over to Pip’s place, Meet Me At Mikes.

 

18 Comments leave one →
  1. November 21, 2009 11:35 am

    Oh yes! That’s so cool that those guys spin around! Awesome! I really love those Swedish Angel Chimes you used to be able to get – I wonder where you can get those… Anyhoo, I think your collection is lovely and long-lasting and festive too! Hurrah for you! x

  2. November 21, 2009 12:20 pm

    What a perfect time of year to share this collection! Love it

  3. November 21, 2009 1:19 pm

    So nice, I love a miss matched Christmas there is too much matchy matchy now days. This is a nice little lot!

  4. November 21, 2009 1:46 pm

    Oh wow, that’s a wonderful collection! It brings back memories of my nan who adored Christmas and had lots of little Swedish and European decorations. I think my favourite one of yours is the little wooden one that opens up. But the candle powered spinner is so gorgeous too xo

  5. November 21, 2009 2:47 pm

    What a great collection! I wonder if you are sad when you have to put it away every year. I love the idea of the candle heat making the characters spin, like magic. Have a great weekend.

  6. November 21, 2009 5:01 pm

    Oh wow, I love them all! I love decorations too! I love that one that turns with the candles. How special is that.

    I was in Canada in June about 20years ago & in the quaintest little town I ever did see, Niagara-on-the-lake. It had a Christmas shop. It was weird finding a Christmas shop in June. But it was beautiful. Had I not been 19 & travelling on a tight budget I would have gone crazy there. I can see your enjoyment in such things!

  7. November 21, 2009 7:14 pm

    Excellent collection – I collect Chrissy decs too – we always buy them on our travels overseas, and try and find one special one each year to remember when we decorate our trees (both of them!!). Your decs are lovely!

  8. November 21, 2009 8:37 pm

    what a darling collection!!..it’s simply unique!!

  9. November 21, 2009 10:49 pm

    Oh I love your collection … beautiful and so very thoughtful! I only skimmed the surface of my collections … isn’t this fun 🙂

  10. November 22, 2009 11:39 am

    Wonderful Collection and so appropriate for this time of year.

  11. November 22, 2009 6:28 pm

    WHat a fun thing to collect. And so special in a way it comes out only once a year

  12. Tanya Holt permalink
    November 22, 2009 9:05 pm

    I love these. German’s do Christmas decorations well too, I reckon

  13. November 23, 2009 6:03 am

    they are so beautiful! I used to collect Christmas decorations, unfortunately I had to live everything in my home back in Poland…
    well soon to start a new collection, thanks you
    x

  14. November 24, 2009 2:45 pm

    Oh lovely – look at that curly tree in the middle of the candely one!

  15. November 24, 2009 11:28 pm

    I ADORE your collection, I’m coming to the Christmas decoration collection thing quite late, but I certainly understand the appeal.

    I LOVE that last one – it’s absolutely incredible!!! 😀

  16. maybenextweek permalink*
    November 27, 2009 5:38 pm

    Thanks everyone! Nice to see there are so many other Christmas decoration enthusiasts out there!

Trackbacks

  1. :: My Place & Yours :: My Collection Roundup | meetmeatmikes

Leave a Reply

