Skip to content

What’s Hot + What’s Not

December 2, 2009

I love reading all the Hot + Not lists, there’s something so appealing about them, so I’m joining in with Loobylu – head over there for more lists and to sign up!

Hot

I’m getting more painting done – the bathroom ceiling is done now, and the room looks so much brighter for it. I like the paint splotches on my fingers.

The new front door is being installed as I type. I’m going to paint it tomorrow.

I know I already mentioned The Gone Away World, and how brilliant it was, but I’m still thinking about it, so I’m saying it again.

There are 3 big boxes of stuff ready to go to Vinnies this afternoon.

I haven’t had a coffee for one month! The aim is to go 6 weeks without it so as to get it entirely out of my system, then only have it once in a while. Last time I tried to quit, about 5 years ago, 2 days into it I had headaches so bad I couldn’t stand up. I also cried. I don’t know what I’ve done right this time, but I’ve barely missed it and my energy levels have balanced out a lot. Hurrah!

I’ve decided to make plum jam for Christmas presents (don’t tell), with little linoprinted tags.

I have Andrew Bird tickets! I Love Andrew Bird. I would marry him today, should he ask. He whistles and sings with a voice like golden sunshine. Also, he is incredibly Hot. Plus his name is Andrew Bird. That has to be one of the best names ever. I am swooning in anticipation.

Not

I saw New Moon last night. It was terrible. So bad it was funny. Thanks heavens I’d had a Margarita beforehand, otherwise I might not have lasted the distance.

My cat’s been losing lots of weight, apparently due to an overactive thyroid. Not uncommon among elderly cats. Now we need to give him a pill a day forever and ever amen. He’s really bad with pills.

My feet are cold.

Hot

I’ve just put some socks on.

Here’s another picture of Andrew Bird.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. December 2, 2009 1:37 pm

    I am guessing by those dirty gumboots and the windswept hair that Andrew Bird is a man of the land, am I right ? It would totally explain why he has a voice like golden sunshine (I love that description).

  2. December 2, 2009 10:54 pm

    He’s hot and so are margs too … you have fabulous taste … wish I’d been close enough to have a poke in those Vinnies boxes … Haaaaaaaa … fun isn’t this? 😉

  3. maybenextweek permalink*
    December 6, 2009 10:24 am

    Thanks guys, yep, he is in fact a man of the land (he has a farm) and a man of the city (he lives part of the time in Chicago, where he grew up), so I think he has the best of both worlds.
    There was nothing exciting in those Vinnies boxes, Redness, so you didn’t miss out!

  4. December 6, 2009 6:31 pm

    Clearing out some stuff and giving to Vinnies is good to do. De-cluttering always is HOT! Chele x

  5. December 10, 2009 10:22 pm

    I LOVE ANDREW BIRD TOO!! (sorry for the shouting, it just seemed an appropriate response!) …

    I think if I wasn’t already spoken for with a lovely husband of my own, that I would also marry Andrew Bird in a heartbeat… he is wonderful and his voice is like goosebumps down the spine – delicious and quite magical… 😀

    I hope your cat goes OK with the pill-taking… it sounds like your cheese idea is a WINNER!!

    • maybenextweek permalink*
      December 16, 2009 6:31 pm

      Tracey, you do make me laugh! Andrew Bird is indeed delicious and magical – nice description 🙂

Leave a Reply

