Skip to content

What’s Hot + What’s Not

December 9, 2009

It’s Hot + Not Wednesday over at Loobylus! How did that come around so fast?

Hot

The Finders Keepers Markets – not so crowded this time and lots of loverly things. I picked up a set of beautiful gift cards by Renee Treml and treated myself to some gorgeous Nice biscuit earrings by Victoria Mason.Very nice indeed!

Proving that he was always meant to be my cat and no one elses, I’ve figured out how to give him his pills… by sticking them inside a piece of cheese.

After all the anticipation, I finally saw Where The Wild Things Are. It was sadder and scarier than I thought it would be, but wonderful too – wonderful and adventurous and really truly properly wild.

I’ve been listening to Martha Wainwright’s Piaf Record lots and lots. I loved her first album; the second not so much, but I think this is back to brilliant.

I was overcharged for some books I bought online, which stressed me out so should go into the Not category, but they got back to me within 24 hours of my emailing with an apology and a refund. Good customer service is always Hot.

Not

Yesterday was first day of the Copenhagan talks and neither The Sydney Morning (surprisingly) or The Telegraph (unsurprisingly) had a story on it (in the paper that is, they had something online). Compare this with 56 papers worldwide sharing an editorial to demand results:

Today 56 newspapers in 45 countries take the unprecedented step of speaking with one voice through a common editorial. We do so because humanity faces a profound emergency.

Unless we combine to take decisive action, climate change will ravage our planet, and with it our prosperity and security. The dangers have been becoming apparent for a generation. Now the facts have started to speak: 11 of the past 14 years have been the warmest on record, the Arctic ice-cap is melting and last year’s inflamed oil and food prices provide a foretaste of future havoc. In scientific journals the question is no longer whether humans are to blame, but how little time we have got left to limit the damage. Yet so far the world’s response has been feeble and half-hearted.

I think feeble and half-hearted sums up Australia’s position nicely.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. December 9, 2009 7:58 pm

    Very sad that anyone is self-centred and arrogant enough to believe the Flat Earth Society spiel anymore. I think they might be hoping that after this life there is something else?
    Chele xx

  2. December 9, 2009 9:21 pm

    Great post … yep Finders Keepers was the best yet, as for the media, says it all doesn’t it disgustingly disgraceful!

  3. December 10, 2009 5:38 am

    THanks for the Martha W recommendation. I will have to check it out. I love Hot + Not for the discovery of new, good books and music!
    xx
    claire

  4. December 10, 2009 10:18 pm

    Haha!! Once again on my visit here, I am reminded of how similar our tastes and thoughts are… πŸ˜€

    Firstly, I LOVE Renee Treml’s work – I picked up two of her beautiful prints from the Brisbane markets…

    Secondly – Victoria Mason… well of course I ADORE her work too (those earrings look almost good enough to eat)… *hehe*

    Thirdly, that Martha Wainwright album is NEXT on my list to buy… seriously!! I agree with you, I could not get enough of her first album, but the second was a little more *meh* … I can’t wait to try this one out!!

    … oh and of course I went to see Where The Wild Things Are last week and LOVED that too… like you I found it sadder and perhaps more confronting than I thought I would, but loved it just the same!! πŸ˜€

    • maybenextweek permalink*
      December 16, 2009 6:37 pm

      Thanks all!

      Tracey, if I hadn’t been born in the UK, I’d think we might’ve been separated at birth! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

