Skip to content

What’s Hot + What’s Not: Sleighbells Ring

December 23, 2009

Alrighty, welcome to the Christmas edition of What’s Hot + What’s Not Wednesday! All my Christmas stuff is good to go, wrapped and ready… I think! Anyway, there’s been lot’s of progress, and there’s only two more sleeps!

Loobylu hasn’t posted yet, but go visit and say ‘Hi’ anyway – cause she’s fab.

Hot

Finishing work for the year and having our Christmas party at Bistrode – very fancy, very delicious! I’m going to be with this team until June and I only started a month ago, so it was great to get to know people I haven’t really had a chance to chat with yet.

Catching up with buddies from my old work for Christmas tapas at Pony (again, delicious). I feel really happy that work friends have turned into real-life friends – it’s not always the case, especially when you’re a freelancer, so I feel extra-lucky!

Taking time out from the Christmas-preparation whirlwind to go and see Avatar. I thought it was fantastic  – a proper big blockbuster, but in a good way, an impressive way – and a perfect holiday-time film.

I thought it wasn’t going to make it, and was struggling to come up with a Plan B, but my Threadless order containing presents for the family arrived just in time to come with us to BrisVegas yesterday. Phew!

Winning a copy of Stephanie Alexander’s A Kitchen Garden Companion through Penguin Australia’s 12 Days of Christmas on Twitter. I entered yesterday, wasn’t on a computer again all day, dreamt last night that I’d won, then hopped online this morning to find I had! It’s very exciting – This Christmas is looking to be fairly standard and predictable – so it’s wonderful to have something unexpected happen.

Dreams in general. I haven’t been dreaming much lately, I’m not sure why, but they started again this weekend – perhaps it’s the holidays kicking in. Last night I had a dream that I was up in these huge, deep-blue clouds, taking photos of pelicans and Emperor penguins flying and sliding and waddling their way towards, around and past me. It was exhilarating and wonderful.

Not

No Not’s this week, only Hot’s!  Hurrah!

One Comment leave one →
  1. January 3, 2010 4:05 pm

    How lucky are you winning Stephanie Alexander’s A Kitchen Garden Companion, it is the best cooking/gardening book! Hope you had a great Christmas…Happy 2010!
    Chele xx
    P.S. I can’t wait to see Avatar too

Leave a Reply

