Skip to content

Wild, Smooth, Whimsy, Perfection

January 5, 2010

I did promise you some pop, folk, rock and funk, didn’t I?

There was some good – very good – music at the Peats Ridge Festival and then, in the same week, I went to perhaps the best concert I’ve ever seen. So here they are, my top 3 performances from the festival and the top concert ever at the Sydney Opera House.

1. Day 1 of the festival belonged to Liam Finn, whose live performance blew me away. Does that man ever run out of energy? He was wild, but precise, and fun (I loved his cover of The Return of Innocence) and he was beautifully matched by EJ (why wasn’t her name in the program?) I confess, I didn’t love his album, I’ll be Lightning as much as I thought I would, but I can’t wait for his next one.

2. Day 2 of the festival was probably my favourite – a good balance of music and catching up with friends. It also had the only musical entry on my top 4 list that I’d never heard of before – Mountain Mocha Kilimanjaro, a Japanese funk band who know how to dress and know how to play – they were sharp and smooth and brilliant – so good I am seeing them again in a couple of weeks.

3. Unsurprisingly, Sarah Blasko totally stole the show on New Years Eve – her performance was all about magic and whimsy and somehow managed to be chilled out yet so upbeat that everyone was dancing. And you’ve got to love a performer who hands out sparklers and throws confetti to the crowd.

(I think an honourable mention should go to Vic’s Disco Tent, which was where we went when we needed to re-energise by listening to classic songs by the likes of Prince and the Jackson Five, all while dancing like crazy people.)

4. Andrew Bird at the Sydney Opera House. Taking the crown of Best. Concert. Ever. from Rufus Wainwright. He was so freaking good – perfection from the moment he hobbled onto the stage on his crutches (an accident onstage a couple of weeks ago, apparently) to the moment he finished his final encore. Between songs he seemed unassuming, even a little shy, but while he played he was a king, certain and strong and amazing. The performance was wonderfully intricate – there were so many layers yet it just seemed effortless, as natural to him as flying is to other birds. I wouldn’t have been surprised had he stretched his arms and flown away at the end of the performance.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. January 5, 2010 4:10 pm

    What perfection … I’m so jealous you got to see/hear Sarah Blasko.

    • maybenextweek permalink*
      January 11, 2010 11:47 am

      She was fantastic! Dare I say it, even better live than on her album!

  2. January 26, 2010 11:19 am

    I saw Liam Finn and Eliza Jane at Falls in Tassie and her name was also not in the programme (and Jane Tyrell was missing from the Urthboy listing as well). A shame as both ladies were very important to both shows!

    • maybenextweek permalink*
      January 28, 2010 12:44 pm

      Hmmm… I wonder why it could be? They surely deserve some recognition!

      Nice to see you here Able & Game!

      xo

Leave a Reply

