Skip to content

BILLY!

January 31, 2010

You can keep your Baldwin, Bob Thornton, Joel and Kennedy (although he was awesome). You can even keep Mr The Kid. No, there is only one BILLY in my life, and it comes from IKEA. I’m not really fussed about anything else from the store, but the BILLY – that sturdy, unassuming keeper of treasure – has my everlasting loyalty.

Imagine then, my delight on hearing from the lovely Yas (thanks Lady!) that to celebrate the 30th anniversary of the BILLY bookcase, IKEA would be placing 30 of them on Bondi Beach today, filled with books. People could take them for a gold coin donation per book or swap them for one of their old books, with all proceeds going to the Australian Literacy & Numeracy Foundation.

The BILLYs and the books make the beach look even better, don’t you think? Not that it isn’t already, y’know, pretty gorgeous.

I took 4 books to exchange, figuring I might pick one up. Little did I know that all the books were brand new, donated by the publishers! Sweet heavens. I came home with 7, all top quality. One, The Selected Works Of T.S. Spivet by Rief Larsen, I’ve been lusting after for months, but haven’t bought because of the too-high price tag. And there it was! I donated my 4 books and $20.00 and left feeling very fortunate indeed.

Such a great Sunday. I hope yours was too!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. February 3, 2010 3:23 pm

    What an awesome idea! So terrific, and your stash made me jealous 🙂

    • maybenextweek permalink*
      February 4, 2010 12:12 pm

      Hi Elle! Yes, it was one of those magical things that you don’t know just how good it’s going to be until you get there – hurrah!

      xo

Leave a Reply

