Skip to content

The Early Bird

February 8, 2010

After a lifetime of so not being a morning person can-you-please-just-let-me-sleep, I have taken a turn the other way in order to go for a walk before I get ready for work. That’s right, Monday to Friday, not only do I Have to get up to go to work but I Choose to get up an hour earlier to go for a walk. Whatever the weather, come rain, come shine, there I am – out and about – hello world. Surprisingly, this has not thrown the earth off its axis as one would expect but instead I find I enjoy(!) it. I feel better for it. I feel more awake and I have more energy. That just sounds like crazy talk I know – it’s nuttier than a snickers – but it’s true. By the time I get home and put the kettle on I’m feeling positively ok about the whole having to get ready for work and not go back to bed business (Mostly, anyway. Some days all I want to do is crawl back into bed with a cuppa and my book and the potential for a light snooze. I love a light snooze, they’re kind of like second breakfasts, or elevenses – just lovely, don’t you agree?).

Anyway, one of the things I enjoy(!) about my morning walk the most is seeing and hearing all the birds. I’m used to hearing them squark and squabble at sunset, but at the beginning of the day it’s a different sound altogether, gentler and more relaxed, a nice soothing warble. They’re also less inclined to fly off as you approach, but they’re still not great at staying still for the camera.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. February 11, 2010 9:34 pm

    I too have been doing a regular morning walk since August last year (perhaps our week of decadence brought it on?) and it has been life-changing.

    The birds, the sunrise, the breeze…it’s all pretty pretty.

  2. maybenextweek permalink*
    February 14, 2010 12:45 pm

    Very pretty! It was my 10 days of decadence in New Zealand in October that brought it on, plus some pictures of me looking decidedly porky!

    xo

Leave a Reply

