Skip to content

L’amour

February 14, 2010

So, this is the last V Day of my twenties and I have so many valentines I simply don’t know what to do with myself.

No, I’m not talking about one of those freaky romantic valentines I’ve read so much about in books and seen in the movies (they really exist, right? I forget). Romance is sadly absent from my life at the mo. But, after letting myself have 5 minutes this morning to feel that yearning melancholy I stopped, because it does not do one good to dwell, and because there is lots in my life that I love.

I love roses. Not those horribly generic ones that come with babies breath and are meant somehow to be romantic, despite being completely impersonal. No, I mean proper roses, with glorious names like Mountbatten, Peppermint Swirl and Barbra Streisand.

I love listening to the ABC Classic 100 on Sundays  while I catch up on my emails. I’m listening to the Cello Suite by JS Bach right now, one of my favourites. It makes me want to start cello lessons again.

I love Angels on Bare Skin by Lush and Bare Faced exfoliant by Perfect Potion (although not at the same time). They make my skin feel soft and smooth.

I loved being able to take half an hour to decide what to make for dinner tonight (I’ve decided on an old favourite, Nigella Lawson’s Moroccan Lamb Stew from Nigella Bites).

Speaking of food, and Nigel’s, I love anything and everything written by Nigel Slater. He’s the best.

I love David Tennant as the Doctor in Doctor Who, but I’m also really looking forward to seeing what Matt Smith will do with the role. And I love that Neil Gaiman is definitely writing a Doctor Who episode for Matt Smith’s second season.

I love the feeling that autumn is coming.

I love this clip of Carla Bruni singing L’amour

I love Nice biscuits, and Dark Chocolate Digestives, and Mint Slice.

I love this Valentine’s Day post by Jena Coray, and this one by Susannah Conway, which, as a fellow long-term single girl I can relate to so well, and I agree wholeheartedly when she says:

So for now I will continue to show myself kindness and love, as I really do believe that that’s the best place to start. Because if i can’t give myself that gentle gift, why would anyone else want to?

Quite right. Happy Valentines Day! Remember to show yourself kindness and love, and give it freely to others whenever you get the opportunity.

xoxo

4 Comments leave one →
  1. February 15, 2010 6:10 am

    Thanks for this lovely post, and especially the great advice at the end. As someone in a looooooong-term relationship, I can attest that this remains the most important thing; it’s very difficult to give kindness and love to anyone else consistently if you don’t give it to yourself first.

    • maybenextweek permalink*
      February 16, 2010 12:31 pm

      Thanks to you Roving Lemon! And I love your Perspective pancake pile dessert, by the way – it’s just right 🙂

  2. February 18, 2010 1:31 pm

    So true! But too often we are led to think self love narcissistic. We too easily subvert ourselves in the name of “loving another”. It is the paradox of being attached and autonomous. Being single again after an 18 year marriage had made me open my eyes to how little love or kindness I gave myself. It is assumed that while we give to others….they give to us in equal measure…..not always true. It is a lovely and beautiful thing to read the simple joy and pleasure you give yourself. Thank you.

    • maybenextweek permalink*
      February 20, 2010 2:21 pm

      I’m so glad you like the post Lisa, and what you say is very true too. How many of us – particularly women, I think – are conditioned, or simply naturally more attuned to the needs of others, therefore easily fall into repressing our own selves. It’s a hard habit to break, but I think the key is balance. There’s a quote attributed to the Dalai Lama that I love: “If you want others to be happy, practice compassion. If you want to be happy, practice compassion.”

Leave a Reply

