Skip to content

This week

February 20, 2010

Can you feel it? I noticed it on Monday morning – there’s a change in the air.

Autumn is coming, and it feels good.

I know we’re still a month away from the Equinox, but the autumnal feeling is coming through so clearly – not all the time, most of the time it’s still Summer, through and through. The bright white light of the morning is Summer, but the warm golden light streaming through the window in the afternoons is all Autumn, and it’s moments like those that just make me want to breathe deep, make me feel completely at ease, completely happy. I love that the weather can do that for me, have such an effect on my mood. It’s the same with Spring – such a clear sense of change and possibility. At the moment a big part of it is what can only be called harvest-time. In my own backyard that means the fig tree is finally coming good. Out in the world it means I see birds feasting in the trees that have been made so green by the recent rain. I love seeing everything so green and lush. It’s reviving and it restores me, restores my sense of self, and while I am happily anticipating the cooler evenings that will see me tucked in a corner, with a good book and my favourite quilt, it also makes me want to be out in the world, and so I make plans.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 7, 2010 8:11 pm

    man i’m sad about it… i love that endless summer…

    • maybenextweek permalink*
      March 9, 2010 5:08 pm

      Hmmm… I’d be quite content with an endless 25 degrees C – skirt and cardi weather, with boots and scarves sometimes – that’s for me!

Leave a Reply

