Skip to content

Get Knitted!

February 24, 2010

I don’t know why, maybe it’s my happy anticipation of cooler weather, but items of a knitted variety seem to be catching my attention this week.

I can’t actually knit myself – I’ve never had the inclination, but I think I might be tempted to try if the end result is this set of placemats. They’re from the purl bee, and they were designed for a workshop at a – get this – hot chocolate festival in New York City. Oh yeah. I want them bad! I’ve never thought of placemats as having the potential to be sexy, particularly if they’re knitted, but these are super-sexy, don’t you think?

I’ve also been enjoying reading about rekn.it – a project launched just last month by Haik Avanian. Simply put, you send him an old knitted sweater you might have otherwise discarded, and his mum makes it into something else, depending on the month. This month, she’s making cut-off gloves. The idea is to encourage people to think of ways things can be reused, and to encourage his mum in a craft she loves. Awesome idea.

Are there any knitters out there? What do you like to knit? And how tricky is it exactly?

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Janita Goodwin permalink
    February 25, 2010 6:28 am

    Yes I can knit, & it looks good too.Sadly I don’t always get the size just right. I finished the “to die for waist coat” for my daughter. When she next visited I proudly presented the gift. I think it would have fitted two of her. I then spent two days undoing it & rewinding the wool.
    I reknit it a size smaller on the pattern & two sizes smaller on the needles.
    Success, it fits & looks great.!!
    I’ll teach you if you visit the U.K.!!

    • maybenextweek permalink*
      February 27, 2010 3:06 pm

      It’s a deal!

      xo

  2. February 28, 2010 11:49 pm

    Knitters ain’t quitters! Except for me. Well, I haven’t quit, yet. I’ve been working on the same scarf for…four years now. And it’s not a very long scarf.

    I would teach you, but I’m guessing you don’t want to wait four years to knit a scarf. It would be faster to fly to the UK, learn from the lovely lady above, fly back, and then write the Great Australian Novel, than to wait for me.

    • maybenextweek permalink*
      March 1, 2010 12:20 pm

      I’ve seen that scarf – it’s longer than you give yourself credit for! And now it’s all autumnal (yay!), you can get back into it again! xo

  3. Little Miss Moi permalink
    March 17, 2010 7:35 pm

    Wow, what a great idea! I LOVE these coasters, they are fantastic! Knitting is like anything – easy concept, with varying degrees of difficulty depending on what you’re doing. The most complicated thing I’ve made is a beanie. I’m not terribly crafty so this was a real achievment.

    • maybenextweek permalink*
      March 20, 2010 3:36 pm

      A real achievement – go you! I’m super impressed by anyone that can simply start a row (that’s called casting off, yes? or is that fishing? Oh dear, I should really do some reading up).

      Thanks for visiting!

      xo

  4. March 30, 2010 3:45 pm

    Are you knitting yet? It really is quite easy (and relaxing) once you get the hang of it. Although I can read fairly complex patterns I choose to do things I can do in front of the TV so I don’t have to make more time in my day for craft! Things like these coasters, hats for little people, scarves as gifts are simple yet always appreciated. Autumn is always a good time to start!

    • maybenextweek permalink*
      March 30, 2010 7:43 pm

      I’m not yet! But I want to! I love the idea of being all cosy with some knitting.

      xo

Leave a Reply

