Skip to content

Funny Peculiar

March 7, 2010

The funniest thing happened during the week. Not funny haha, but funny peculiar – funny unsettling.

So, I think of myself as an amateur photographer – it’s something I’ve only taken a few classes in a long time ago, but something I enjoy very much and put time and effort into – but I’ve never thought of the photos I take as being of a standard that people would want to use them, and this blog isn’t being big enough that I’ve thought I’d have to worry about it. So I’ve never felt the need to put a note up asking people to credit me when they quote me or use my photos. And I’ve always assumed that if anyone did want to then they would ask or credit me anyway, as a basic courtesy, especially since the people out there that I know and whose blogs I love to visit are a lovely, decent, tip-top-quality bunch of folks.

But then, this week, I saw one of my photos from Maybe Next Week. I saw it somewhere Else. Somewhere Else that makes money from what they do and where people should (and do) know better. And while someone wanting to use one of my photos would have made me feel flattered and happy, I hadn’t been asked, credited or linked back to. And so it felt horrible and peculiar and strange. And I’ve dealt with it – I’ve now been credited – but it left me wondering, has this happened before, and I just haven’t known?

And I don’t think there’s anything I can do about it, except write about it here and put a note on my sidebar. So that’s what this is, and that’s why the note’s there now.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 7, 2010 8:09 pm

    oh yes! this sorta sucks when it happens… I mean it is flattering right? and that’s lovely, but well, it simply gets my goat when people don’t credit images and I always go out of my way to make sure the owner is either written to or written down! so I feel you rpain there… super glad you got it sorted, I would have insisted you did otherwise… sigh…

    often ppl just find things on fffound…

    loving your little blog and photos all the same 😉

    thea.
    xx

    (spoonful)

    • maybenextweek permalink*
      March 9, 2010 5:08 pm

      Thanks Thea! You’re a lovely. xo

Leave a Reply

