Skip to content

Birthday Wishlist #10

March 22, 2010

So – 10 days till I turn 30. I thought that instead of flipping out (or as well as, perhaps. Eeeeek!), it might be kind of fun to count down with 10 things I would like to do/have/achieve/happen in the next year. Some of them are big, some of them are small, some realistic, some entirely fanciful.

Let’s start with something entirely fanciful, shall we?

Wish #10

{Image 1. from Sundancekid74’s livejournal; Image 2. from bbc.co.uk}

Hee! Well, if you can’t ask for David Tennant for your 30th birthday, when can you ask for him? In 2008, when I travelling about and I was in Stratford-upon-Avon for a couple of days, I saw the poster for David Tennant as Hamlet up at the RSC – standing up in the misty mountains. The production was starting after I was due to come back to Sydney, and I thought, ‘maybe I should just stay’. I was in the frame of mind where really good theatre tickets (and the prospect of seeing David! Tennant!) would have been enough to make me change my plans and I thought seriously enough about it that I asked about tickets the next day at the box office. They were, alas! sold out, so I consoled myself with a 2B or not 2B pencil from the gift shop and flew home as planned. It was, evidently, not meant 2B.

But seriously, a fella to call my own would be a fine thing indeed. And I’m putting it out there – into the universe loud and clear, whereas a short time ago it would have just been a whisper. And every time I say it to friends or write it here, I feel more sure and ready. My delightful friend Louise told me yesterday that she thinks providence will take care of me. I told her that providence should get a wriggle on. And I meant it. The whisper is now a clear, steady voice. This year please. A good, warm guy, who is interested in the world and in what he wants his life to be. Someone who makes me happy and thinks I’m, y’know, nice and stuff. Someone who sparkles.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 22, 2010 8:23 am

    A sparkling man sounds good. And one that is “differentiated”, knows himself and where he is going. If your talent and creativity is a window to you as a “whole” person, you are a mighty fine and sparkling person yourself. I hope you have a great 30th!! It just keeps getting better. Promise.

    • maybenextweek permalink*
      March 23, 2010 8:39 am

      Aww, thanks Lisa! I hope so!

Leave a Reply

