Skip to content

Birthday Wishlist #9

March 23, 2010

9 days to go! And with it, wish #9

It’s a simple wish today.
Just some peanut butter, innocently spread on a toasted English muffin.

The thing is, peanut butter and I have been spending some time apart.
I caught myself eating it by the spoonful one too many times, paying too much attention to recipes for brownies and biscuits requiring half a jar. And so, for about the last 6 months, it has not been allowed to pass the threshold and I have tried to get it out of my system, tried to forget.

Stuff that! Life is too short and I refuse to spend my
thirties without this delicious substance.

Welcome back, old friend!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Kelstir permalink
    March 23, 2010 3:14 pm

    and welcome back clogged arteries … life will be short if you eat too much of that stuff!
    sorry, kidding – couldn’t resist making a joke.
    I’m liking the countdown!
    Kel xxxx

    • maybenextweek permalink*
      March 24, 2010 8:45 am

      Hee, thanks Kel – each to their own I say – we can’t all have your super-healthy diet and ripped abs!
      xo

  2. March 28, 2010 5:05 pm

    My goodness! It feels like I could have written this very post myself – I am a humungous fan of peanut butter! Our affair began innocently enough – a teaspoon here and there, until I found myself putting PB with everything! If you’re really hardcore, may I suggest mashing a few tsp’s into a bowl of icecream? Your life will never be the same again! -a 🙂

    • maybenextweek permalink*
      March 28, 2010 6:26 pm

      Ann! You’re a woman after my own heart! Last year I went for a fancy dinner at Spice Temple, and for dessert I had the peanut, chocolate and caramel parfait – it was amazing!

      I haven’t tried the peanut butter/ice-cream combo at home, but it sounds like a match made in heaven!

  3. March 30, 2010 7:43 pm

    hehehehe, can’t say I feel the same about peanut butter… but nutella, we’ve become acquainted recently, and I can’t seem to let go… or hold on to it for very long… I’m sure it’s all over my thighs…

    thea.
    xx

    (Spoonfulzine)

    • maybenextweek permalink*
      March 30, 2010 7:56 pm

      I can happily say that while I love nutella as an ingredient, if it’s just on it’s own I can take it or leave it. I think it’s the salty-sweetness of peanut butter that does it for me … sigh … such goodness!

      xo

Leave a Reply

