Skip to content

Birthday Wishlist #7

March 25, 2010

Wish number 7! One week to go! Oh my!

{All images from dianarigg.net}

This wish makes me feel a bit anxious, and a bit sheepish too.

You see, in mid-2008, having completed my hours, I took my driving test to get my P’s – and failed. There were many reasons for this failure – I was pre-menstrual, I was feeling extra pressure because I was due to fly to the UK the next week and I really wanted to get it over and done with before I left, and then – to cap it all off – as we walked in my driving instructor proceeded to tell me that all the instructors were very nice, except for that one over there, who – of course! – then called out my name. Plus I ran a stop sign. Yep, that might’ve had something to do with it.

Anyway anyway anyway. I failed. I did. And then I went overseas and then I came back and then, apart from the occasional hour on the occasional weekend, I just kind of let it be forgotten. Except that it wasn’t, and it isn’t, because at the start of every weekend I think to myself, ‘I’m going to do some driving this weekend. Tomorrow. Yes, tomorrow will do nicely.’ And then of course I get to Sunday night and kick myself a bit but also feel quietly relieved. It’s a vicious cycle.

The thing is, once I get out there, I’m actually quite a capable driver. I just get hugely anxious in anticipation. But I still really want my license. I have visions of myself driving about the countryside like Diana Rigg as Mrs Peel in The Avengers, hair artfully tossed with a devil-may-care attitude as I arrive at an abandoned old mansion ready to investigate the evil scheme of a crazy scientist intent on world domination only to be caught in his trap putting me in mortal peril until John Steed rescues me in customarily suave and timely fashion.

Ok, maybe not that last bit (unless I’m really lucky). But I really would like to be able to drive about (and have great hair).

So wish #7 is to take a deep breath, get over the nerves and get this done – sooner rather than later – hopefully in the next 2 or 3 months and certainly before my next birthday. A few more practice runs and then take the test, as many times as I need to, until I pass. Yep. I’m going to do it. I am.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Yas (aboutthefood) permalink
    March 25, 2010 9:08 am

    Dude, I failed my first go. Many do, it’s freaky business this driving stuff. You’ll be fine, get your Ps, then we can go road-tripping!

    • maybenextweek permalink*
      March 27, 2010 9:37 am

      Thanks Yassy! Yes indeedy, it is freaky business, but once I’ve got it, road-trips ahoyhoy!

  2. Kelstir permalink
    March 25, 2010 2:24 pm

    Same thing happened to me … exactly. All nice, except that one. He grunted at me the whole time – game over when he had to step on the pedals.
    I knew someone who had to do it 20 times!
    You’ll be fine xxx

    • maybenextweek permalink*
      March 27, 2010 9:38 am

      20 times! Oh dear me – apart from the stress, think of the expense! I hope it doesn’t take me that many!

  3. verimaz permalink
    March 26, 2010 10:26 am

    I did almost the same thing last year, fretted over my log book, took some extra paid lessons and then choked when it came to the test.
    I can drive it is just a confidence thing.
    Now i’m pregnant and driving with my husband when hormonal and emotional does not improve my confidence.
    But now i have a big reason to try to get my licence again so i’m going to try building my confidence driving with my sister-in-law who should be less stressful than the hub’.

    One bit of good news i discovered is that last year RTA changed the rules so if you’re over 25 you don’t need to log the hours (i was looking at having to log 120hrs!) so you should be able to go again any time you want.

    Good luck!

    • maybenextweek permalink*
      March 27, 2010 9:41 am

      Thanks Verimaz!

      Yes, I think the person we go driving with has a lot to do with our confidence. I go out with my dad – initially I thought there’d be dramas, but surprisingly, he wound up being a lot better for my confidence than my driving instructor!

      I heard about the change of rules – very sensible, I think – and it does take the pressure off a bit!

      Good luck to you too, lady! xo

Leave a Reply

