Skip to content

Birthday Wishlist #3

March 29, 2010

Golly! Thursday is not very far away at all! I’m starting to feel quite excited. This is a 3 day working week for me, with a 5 day weekend for Easter! It’s going to be lots of fun!

Wish #3 is for something to go in my fab new place (see wish #5), and that is a really nice kitchen, with space and a great oven and, just everything I need. One like Maggie Beer’s in The Cook and The Chef, that would do nicely!

You see, I love to cook. I love it a lot. Whether I’m cooking for myself or for a big bunch of people, whether I’m making something I’ve made many times before or following a new recipe. It’s all ace. I like to take my time and pay attention to it all – the chopping and stirring and folding and whisking. And while I am a messy cook, I like to make a mess, and then I like to take the time to return the kitchen to order – crazy, right?

I have some fantastic cookbooks (one of the perks of reviewing them for a job a while back was that I got to keep some) but I feel like I’ve barely skimmed the surface. Instead, I have a to-make list a mile long. Plus, I’m living with my dad, who does most of the cooking – he loves to cook and is great at it and he’s retired so he has the time. And when I get home from work and dinner’s waiting? It’s awesome, yes it is – and I am thankful, but I still miss doing it myself – I feel like my cooking muscles are getting a bit weak and wimpy.

When I do get my own place, a lot will change and I will have my own kitchen. And I wish for it to be lovely and warm and relaxing and welcoming! And in the meantime, this wish is for me to make the time to cook and play in the kitchen no matter where I am. Yes indeedy.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. March 29, 2010 8:27 am

    I’ve used the decrepit kitchen in my place for the past seven years and I am promising myself that as soon as the kids are gone (the youngest is 16, so I can see the light) I am getting a new kitchen and eating takeout for as long as it takes for them to install it. I’m not going to lift a finger to a hammer or spanner, and I’m gunna get fat on Thai until it’s done.

  2. March 29, 2010 9:11 am

    It’s impossible to cook everything in them. I looked through Stephanie Alexander’s Kitchen Garden cookbook last night for inspiration and then ended up finding inspiration in an older book set out much the same way looking for a way to use up potatoes and cauliflower without boring myself stooopid. But oh goodness, don’t ever start looking through them if you’re hungry.

    • maybenextweek permalink*
      March 29, 2010 5:55 pm

      Loving your attitude about the new kitchen, Katie! Getting fat on Thai until it’s done sounds just about right, if you ask me 🙂

      I don’t want to cook everything in my cookbooks, just – you know – a lot!

      xo

  3. March 30, 2010 7:18 pm

    wish ur dreams come true soon!!! bless.)

    • maybenextweek permalink*
      March 30, 2010 7:45 pm

      Thanks! You’re a lovely!

Leave a Reply

