Skip to content

Birthday Wishlist #2

March 30, 2010

You know all those sayings about be careful what you wish for and how following your dreams often turns them into a disappointing reality?

Well, I’m kind of gearing up to test wish #2, which is to write. Now I do write a bit already; as a sub-editor I get to write a bit, although that’s mostly headlines and scrappy bits ‘n’ bobs, and of course, I have this blog. But for a while now, I’ve wanted to try my hand at writing and submitting some articles of my own, to a bunch of magazines, as well as try some creative writing, which I’ve never really properly tried before.

The problem is, by working full time as a sub in an office, by the time I get home I rarely have the right energy left over to do my own stuff. It seems this is a pretty common problem, which is reassuring; I’ve been reading a bit lately about writers and their day jobs, which usually have nothing to do with writing, because people only have so much of that kind of energy, so if their day job is as a journalist, they often have nothing left to give to their own work, whereas if they work as a shop assistant or a charity worker – something entirely unrelated – then they can usually find the right balance.

So, here comes the scary testing part. This June, when my current contract ends, I’m going to take a couple of months off, just to see if I can at least get started – research and write and complete and submit some stuff. I don’t know if I’ll stay home while I do it, or if I’ll go away – I need to figure out which option is least likely to turn me into a puddle of procrastination. But I want to try, and even if it all goes pear-shaped, at least I’ll know.

But I wish for it to work. And, while I’m wishing, if my awesome place (wish #5) with it’s great kitchen (wish #3), can have a work space too, that would be fab! Something a bit like this one maybe, that would be lovely – although I’d never be that tidy! Can I wish to be tidy and organised too, or is that pushing it?

{Image of Donna Zimbardi’s home office from The Design Files}

7 Comments leave one →
  1. March 30, 2010 9:48 am

    I know exactly the battle you speak of. I think your decision to take the time off is the right one. We’re contemplating something similar in my neck of the woods. I am in front of a computer wayyy too much and you’re right, trying to refresh and restart at home, after cooking the family’s dinner, doing the washing, running kids about and the like, is not the recipe for good writing. Good luck with it.

    • maybenextweek permalink*
      March 30, 2010 7:35 pm

      Thanks Katie, and good luck to you too! xo

  2. March 30, 2010 11:46 am

    Enjoyed your post. How long have you been {writing|blogging|on twitter}?

    • maybenextweek permalink*
      March 30, 2010 7:38 pm

      Hey there,

      Let me see … I’ve had this blog for almost 2 years, and I had one before that while I was at uni, although that was mostly me whinging a lot. And I’ve been on Twitter for about a year? Maybe not that long.

      Thanks for stopping by!

  3. April 11, 2010 8:30 pm

    I know EXACTLY what you’re talking about. I’ve been slack in not dedicating enough time to my writing recently, or perhaps I’ve just become a bit lazy in my prioritising of tasks … It can be really hard to juggle the whole full-time day job with creative writing pursuits, but I too take heart that others have faced (and overcome) similar battles).

    Best of luck with it all! Some clear time to pursue your personal writing should be the perfect thing to set yourself on a wonderful new path… 🙂

  4. maybenextweek permalink*
    April 12, 2010 9:15 pm

    Thanks Tracey! Nice to see you back in the neighbourhood 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. Move, Write, Create «

Leave a Reply

