Skip to content

Birthday Wishlist #1

March 31, 2010

Time for birthday wish #1! Exciting stuff!

Have you all seen Tim Burton’s Alice in Wonderland yet? I really liked it, all of it,
particularly Alice’s re-discovery of her muchness.

{Image from The Movie Watch}

This wish is for me to follow and cultivate my sense of confidence and courage and adventure – my muchness.

Part of this has to do with letting go of all the anxiety and stress
and depression and crap that has come before, and determining to
consciously navigate any that might come in the future, instead of putting my head down and just trying to get through it.
That doesn’t work.
It’s to do with acknowledging when something isn’t working, and attempting to improve it, or make a change; doing it soon instead of hanging on.

The rest is about general awareness – everyday as well as long term – trying to be wise to the things that are important to me, who I want to be and what qualities I want my life to have. And it’s about having trust and confidence in that, and letting that sureness – that muchness – guide me, as opposed to making decisions because of the fear that can be felt and expressed by myself as well as others, however well intentioned.

***
So, tomorrow I turn 30! I’ve really enjoyed making this wishlist, but as well as
being fun, it’s helped me work out and articulate those things (apart from the obvious, like good health and happiness for myself, my family and friends)
that are important to me, that I do want in my life.
I think feel I’m on the right track.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Kelstir permalink
    March 31, 2010 9:28 am

    You are! 30s are awesome my friend. No angst, more confidence … not too old yet – enjoy xxx

    • maybenextweek permalink*
      April 3, 2010 3:19 pm

      Thanks Kel! Yes, more enjoyment is around the corner I think – hurrah! xo

  2. March 31, 2010 9:48 am

    Happy birthday for tomorrow. May all your wishes come true.

    • maybenextweek permalink*
      April 3, 2010 3:18 pm

      Thanks Katie! I had a great day, and I’m hoping it’s going to be a great year! xo

  3. March 31, 2010 8:51 pm

    Happy birthday for tomorrow! I was actually relieved when I turned 30. The 20s just didn’t click for me somehow. They started brilliantly but somewhere along the line I lost a lot of confidence and anxiety and soul-searching followed. I’m actually glad that I went through it all however as it definately made me more aware of the need to cultivate my ‘muchness’. Have a great day tomorrow and remember fortune favours the brave!

    • maybenextweek permalink*
      April 3, 2010 3:17 pm

      Thanks Caz! Yes, my twenties never really clicked and I’ve felt a bit of that relief too! xo

Leave a Reply

