Skip to content

Fab Five Faves

April 5, 2010

Time for this weeks five faves! Because it was such a brilliant day, my fab faves are are all from my birthday. My brother came to Sydney for the day and he and my dad took me to a ffancy dinner and a stay in a swanky hotel. Nice!

1. I take the day off work – making this a 5-day weekend thanks to Easter. Thanks, Lady Easter!

2. I start the day with something that needs doing at the post office. The man processing the paperwork notices it’s my birthday, gives me a smile and an Easter egg and tells me to ‘have a wonderful year!’ in a generous, buoyant voice.

3. My brother and I go to see Clash of the Titans in 3D – it’s the kind of film we used to see together all the time – big and loud and incredibly silly. It’s lots of fun, and Sam Worthington somehow manages to look both manly and attractive in his leather dress.

4. My brother, dad and I are staying the night at the super-swanky Westin Hotel. We check in and I have time before dinner for a soak in the bath. As soon as I sink in I can feel my muscles unkinking. It’s heavenly.

5. Dinner was at Rockpool Bar & Grill – I’ve wanted to go there for ages, for the food, of course, but also to sit in the amazing art deco space. As we approach the counter I see Neil Perry standing there. He nods and smiles as we say our name and are taken to our table. Our waiter asks if we would like to start with champagne and I say ‘Yes’. It’s perfect, as is the meal, in particular my entree; cured ocean trout bruschetta which comes with soft, sweet onion. On it’s own, the trout is fantastic. Together with the onion it’s a revelation. I close my eyes as I chew, and when I open them my dad and brother are smiling at me.

***

For more Five Faves and to play along, come and visit Meet Me At Mikes!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. April 6, 2010 7:50 am

    Glad you had a great day for the big day!

    • maybenextweek permalink*
      April 7, 2010 7:11 pm

      Thanks Caz! It was pretty spesh!

  2. April 11, 2010 8:22 pm

    Oh my … I’ve been meaning to return a visit here for so long and now my timing is all off and I’ve missed your birthday!! Shame on me … While it’s woefully inadequate, I’d love to belatedly pass on the very best of birthday wishes to you – it sounds like you had a wonderful time!!

    You always remind me to count the small things that happen in a day to bring beauty to our lives … so as always, thanks for that!

    PS. I love Sam Worthington too! 😉

  3. maybenextweek permalink*
    April 12, 2010 9:17 pm

    Thanks Tracey!

Leave a Reply

