Skip to content

The Return of Foyle’s War

May 9, 2010

{Image from Telegraph.co.uk}

Foyle’s War starts back tonight on the ABC at 8.30 (New Dr Who followed by new Foyle’s War? ABC, I love you). Are you a fan? I am; so much so that when I first saw the trailer I did a little dance around the living room and rewatched the ‘last’ episode. In case you’re not familiar, the series is set during World War II, and follows the team of DCS Christopher Foyle, Sgt Paul Milner and Sam ‘Jolly Hockey Sticks’ Stewart as they solve crimes in the seaside town of Hastings. It’s so good and so interesting. I’ve always had a thing for stories set during World War II, but this series has been superb at revealing real stories from the war, aspects that wouldn’t usually get a good look-see, all set in the midst of fantastic drama. It’s brilliantly written, and Michael Kitchen is wonderful as a man that has steadfastly refused to compromise his values while all about him are bent and swayed by the circumstances of war. I thought it was so stupid that it was axed back in 2008. Apparently quite a few other people did too. So now we have three new episodes to relish. Enjoy!

7 Comments leave one →
  1. May 9, 2010 9:59 pm

    I love Foyles War too and what about the return of the Angels on Dr Who!

  2. May 10, 2010 12:33 am

    We got an episode last Sunday on our PBS station. It was really good. I really enjoy this series. I wish they would make more of the series Kenneth Branaugh does, too.

  3. Francesca permalink*
    May 10, 2010 7:05 pm

    Hey Caz! Those angels! The scariest Dr Who creatures ever, methinks. How great that it’s a double episode!

    Hi Lisa! Is that Wallander? I missed it when it was on here, but I’d be keen to see it!

  4. May 12, 2010 11:41 am

    Yes! Wallander was the name. I think there was only the one episode, but it was great! I liked the Foyle’s War episode this past Sunday, too. I have Bright Star sitting on my credenza to watch this weekend. A good DVD and my sewing machine….:)

    • Francesca permalink*
      May 12, 2010 12:01 pm

      Sounds like bliss! I haven’t seen Bright Star yet, I might have to rent it out this week …

  5. May 21, 2010 1:15 pm

    I’ve been watching this on iView and I’m loving it. Foyle is so beautfully played by Michael Kitchen. I love how understated he is and I’m loving Sam getting a guy … he seems like a keeper so far. I just wonder what’s with Milner because we haven’t seen much of him.

    On a side note … have you seen the 2000 version of Lorna Doone with Honeysuckle Weeks (Sam) and Kitchen (Foyle)?

    I found this after I’d started watching Foyle and I loved seeing the two of them together … including Kitchen in a long wig from the time.

    Check it out if you can.

    • Francesca permalink*
      May 22, 2010 11:21 am

      There’s a version of Lorna Doone with Honeysuckle Weeks and Michael Kitchen? I can’t believe I didn’t know! I’m going to look for it right now!! Thanks for the tip!! xo

Leave a Reply

