Skip to content

Sunny Golden Caramel Popcorn

May 15, 2010

Well, I’m feeling much better.

After the busyness of the week and the suckiness of yesterday, I decided that today – in all it’s gorgeous golden autumnal brilliance – would be for leisure. It helps that I’m going to a costume party tonight – it adds a holiday feel to the day. The theme is New York, and I’m going as the first New York person that popped into my head when I got the invite – no, not anyone from Sex and the City or Friends, not Holly Golightly nor even the Statue of Liberty – no, the first person that came to mind when I thought of New York was Deb from Smitten Kitchen.

I’m assuming you’re all familiar with Smitten Kitchen, and therefore with Deb, right? If not, then all you need to know is that her blog is all about “Fearless cooking from a tiny kitchen in New York City.” She’s a fantastic, funny writer and photographer; she’s married, with possibly the cutest baby ever on the planet and I’ve been addicted to her blog for absolutely ages.

Seeing as the costume is so easy – jeans, t-shirt, apron, oven mitt, camera – I thought I’d make something to take to the party, and decided on the Spicy Caramel Popcorn. Yes, it’s spicy with the cayenne pepper and slightly salty too but they’re balanced by the sweet smooth caramel. Plus there’s peanuts. You’re already planning on making it aren’t you? You should. It’s good, and incredibly moreish. Now, the only popcorn I’ve made before has been the microwave variety, so I was worried it would be difficult, but it really wasn’t. There was a bit of a peanut/caramel clump at the bottom of the bowl that wasn’t ideal, but then I realised how good it tasted and Presto-Chango! Behold the peanut caramel clump has disappeared!

Now I’m going to take a book and some tea and maybe a tiny bit more popcorn outside to enjoy the last of the Saturday sun before it hits the hills.

Happy weekend everyone!

7 Comments leave one →
  1. May 15, 2010 11:39 pm

    What a fantastic idea! Did anyone guess who you were?

  2. May 16, 2010 9:32 am

    Presto-Chango! πŸ˜‰ Ha ha. Perfect costume, perfect blogger, perfect recipe: Mrs. Smitten and Said Sir Bundle-of-Cuteness, Jacob, adorable offspring. Great idea; great post! πŸ˜€

  3. Francesca permalink*
    May 16, 2010 11:50 am

    Thanks both, glad you like the idea! No, no one guessed! But everyone loved the popcorn!

  4. May 19, 2010 10:25 am

    I am so flattered! Of course I’m thinking “I don’t wear jeans and a t-shirt that much and…” And then I looked down and yup, that’s pretty much spot-on. Good guess! Popcorn looks perfect; it has been too long since I last made it.

  5. Francesca permalink*
    May 19, 2010 1:20 pm

    Thanks so much for commenting Deb! And for having the most awesome blog! I’m so happy you’re flattered – Smitten Kitchen is the best!

    xo

  6. May 19, 2010 2:02 pm

    That popcorn looks crazy good! I must go and visit this Smitten Kitchen, sounds like my kind of place!

    BTW, I really like your blog πŸ™‚

    • Francesca permalink*
      May 19, 2010 2:31 pm

      Thanks! I really like your blog too! And yes, do go visit Smitten Kitchen. I’m yet to meet anyone who doesn’t love it!

Leave a Reply

