Skip to content

Move, Write, Create

June 9, 2010

Today is the first day of 21.5.800, and I just signed up, just now. It’s an online community project created by Bindu Wiles where:

“For 21 days, we’ll be doing 5 days of yoga a week and 800 words of writing per day

I have to admit, my initial thought when I saw this was, ‘No way! I’m too busy! I can’t get that done!’

But the thing is, I finished work last week. Remember Birthday Wish #2? Well, I’m going through with it! My contract’s ended and I’m heading to the UK in a month. The main purpose of taking some time out and going away is to write everyday, to see if I really do have it in me, to try to find a balance, to be happy and healthy. Which, in the plan I have set out, will include yoga, because I feel better and stronger when I do yoga, which is really not often at all. And yes, I have lots to do between now and going away, but seriously, if I can’t set enough time aside and start getting myself into the right swing of things now, while I’m not working (for money), then when the hell am I going to do it?

Really, this project was made for me. Now is the time.

I don’t have a particular writing project in mind yet, but the writing can be anything – journalling, blogging, fiction, letters … whatever we like. Over 350 people have signed up, and you can too!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. June 9, 2010 10:10 pm

    What a fantastic project. I’d love to do something like that but with two little ankle-biters and part-time job I’m up to pussy’s bow. Have a great time!

    • Francesca permalink*
      June 10, 2010 2:54 pm

      Thanks Caz, I think it’s going to be a challenge, but if I can make it work it’ll be worthwhile!

  2. June 12, 2010 11:54 am

    I just found your blog through the 21.5.800 challenge. It’s adorable and your outlook on writing and this challenge is refreshing. Looking forward to reading more of your work!
    -Jenn

    • Francesca permalink*
      June 12, 2010 3:41 pm

      Thanks Jenn! I’ll be posting more about the challenge in the next few days 🙂

Leave a Reply

