Skip to content

For the Love of Marie

June 10, 2010

I just hurt the car. I was out for a lesson and as we got home and I parked I scraped the front on a pole. It made a noise. A horrible noise. Ugh. As soon as I got in the house I made a cup of tea into which I dunked a Marie biscuit.

I think Marie biscuits are somewhat undervalued in the biscuitty scheme of things, which is a great pity. No, they’re not flashy like your Iced Vovos and they’re not smooth and chocolatey like Tim Tams (both of which I love, don’t get me wrong). But they are delicious, albeit in a simple way and they’re very pretty. They also make excellent dunkers (which counts for a lot in my book), softening to just the right consistency yet retaining their core strength so as to avoid collapse. They’re one of the most dependable biscuits out there, just the thing to help set you to rights if they day isn’t going quite your way.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. June 12, 2010 8:08 am

    Sorry to hear about the car. If you ever feel really low you might like to make ‘Galletas Marias Fritas’, that it fried Marie biscuits! I know, but it is a real recipes from the famous Spanish cookbook ‘1080 Recipes’. Basically you sandwich two biscuits together with jam, shallow fry in hot oil , drain and sprinkle with icing sugar. I’m not here to endorse them I just wanted you to know that you have options!

    • Francesca permalink*
      June 12, 2010 10:35 am

      I like options! Especially those involving jam! I’ve seen that cookbook in the shops; maybe I’ll have to have a closer look … mmm …

  2. June 16, 2010 3:34 pm

    Maries are my favourite! They’re the only biscuits I ALWAYS have in the cupboard… best with a marshmallow put on… put in microwave… watch coolness of expansion… much on gooey result.

    thea.
    xx

    • Francesca permalink*
      June 16, 2010 5:51 pm

      Ooh, that sounds good! I’m loving these ways with Maries! xo

Leave a Reply

