Skip to content

Saturday Snippets

June 12, 2010

{Image from Fine Little Day}

I came to this blog via Fine Little Day – it’s just lovely, especially if you like beautiful clouds (and who doesn’t?)

You know when you hear an album that is so perfect you think the world must have made it, at least in some small part, just for you? That’s how I feel when I listen to Hadestown. Anaïs Mitchell is too too talented, amazing and inspiring.

And, from another Anaïs, this time Nin: “A leaf fluttered in through the window this morning, as if supported by the rays of the sun, a bird settled on the fire escape, joy in the task of coffee, joy accompanied me as I walked.”

This video makes me happy … and makes me want to go to Iceland! (via A Cup of Jo)

And this video (Bon Iver + Fleet Foxes!) is just magical (via Today’s Letters).

This hotel in New York organises its floors according to the the 10 major categories in the Dewey Decimal System! You know what that means, don’t you? It’s the coolest hotel in the universe! (via Hopelessly Flawed But Soldiering On)

This week I went for a delicious dinner with my mate Yasmin, who is herself departing for some overseas adventures next month. We ate Peking duck and talked and talked and walked around the Rocks. I am lucky to have such a good friend! Yas has her own list of splendid snippets over at About The Food, check it out!

It’s been a good week for eating out – yesterday I had lunch at Tabou in Surry Hills. There was tasty cassoulet and heavenly truffled mash and the kind of bread and butter that makes you think you would be quite content to only eat bread and butter, despite being in such a fancy-pants restaurant with so many indulgent options.

Keri Smith has redesigned her website and it is brilliant! You really must have a look-see but be warned – you might be there for a while!

The dvd player popped up with a message that there was a new channel and would we like to initialise it? ‘Yes’ I clicked. ‘Sure’, I said. ‘Why not?’ thought I. Next thing I know, none of the channels on the dvd player are working. Half an hour of manual reading and clicking buttons later, and still nothing. Suddenly, the dulcet voice of Roy from The IT Crowd pops into my head – “Have you tried turning it off and on again?” And bingo was his name-o. Thanks Roy!

I’m really enjoying The Big Exciting World Cup Literary Distraction Extravaganza of Wondrous Delights over at Who the Fudge is Benjamin Judge (via @nikperring). It’s my kind of distraction extravaganza.

I love this poster (below) from Music Philosophy (via Design is Mine).

Happy Saturday everyone! I hope your life is coloured with chaos of all kinds, and that joy accompanies you as you walk.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. June 12, 2010 10:08 pm

    Wow, Francesca you have been busy! That’s got to be at least 800 words 😉

  2. Francesca permalink*
    June 13, 2010 10:30 am

    Hee, thanks Caz – blogging counts! And thank heavens it does! xo

Leave a Reply

