Skip to content

Top Times in Sydneytown

June 13, 2010

You know how you book a trip away, and then all of a sudden lots of things pop up that you would just love to attend – stuff that would have been highlights of the year? Well, I’m starting to notice them now – things that make me go “No! Why? But! That’s not fair!!” But instead of being a grumbling grouch about it, I thought I’d share them with you, just in case you might think they’re the makings of a top time in Sydneytown too, and then I can return my focus to all the awesome stuff I’m sure is waiting for me on the other side of the world. I’ve met/seen these 3 before so I can 100% recommend them. And I realise they’re all at the Sydney Opera House, but that’s just a coincidence – I don’t know whose been in charge of stuff there this year but as I’ve already seen a couple of ace performances (Andrew Bird and Amanda Palmer), I would very much like to send them a thank you card and ask them to keep it up!

July 27 & 28:
Stephen Fry at the Sydney Opera House!
“In his first and only Australian appearance, Stephen Fry comes to Sydney Opera House to discuss travel, art, TV, madness and everything in between in a 90 minute exclusive talk. The event will involve a 45 minute talk by Fry and then 45 minutes of Q&A with well known ABC TV presenter and journalist Jennifer Byrne.”
I first fell in love with Stephen Fry when he was in Jeeves and Wooster. Then I read his books and then I got hooked on QI. Not to mention that most excellent documentary he did on the Gutenberg Press. I met him once, at a book signing and he was just marvelous. Sigh. Go see him! You won’t regret it!

August 7:
Neil Freaking Gaiman at the Sydney Opera House!
“A world first; Neil Gaiman reading aloud the previously unreleased story “The Truth Is A Cave In The Black Mountains”, in the spectacular surrounds of the Concert Hall at Sydney Opera House. We have commissioned the renowned artist Eddie Campbell to illustrate the story, while FourPlay String Quartet have been commissioned to create an entirely new underscore to the story.”
Crapsticks; that’s going to be amazing. I saw Neil Gaiman at the Sydney Writers Festival a few years ago and he was mesmerising; a Storyteller in the best, most complete sense of the word. Sigh.

October 14 & 21:
Rufus Wainwright at the Sydney Opera House and the State Theatre!
“If you’ve ever been promised the world dear reader; here’s the next best thing. An intimate evening of solo splendour with the devastating Rufus Wainwright – featuring nothing more than a grand piano, a folder full of rich, thoughtful songs, and that voice.”
I might be back in time for this one, but I’m not sure, so I can’t buy tickets, and you can be sure it’s going to sell out soon. He’s so great live – just magically, achingly brilliant.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. June 13, 2010 10:46 pm

    I’ll sign my name on that Thank You card – I saw Joanna Newsom and Regina Spektor this year at the SOH. Both fantastic.

    And I’m in the same fun boat as you – I’d go to all three of the above things but alas (and YAY) I’ll be over the seas and amidst other exciting adventures.

    • Francesca permalink*
      June 14, 2010 10:53 am

      Hurrah for adventures! xo

Leave a Reply

