Skip to content

Small Progress

June 17, 2010

So, I’ve been meaning for a couple of days to post about how I’m going with Bindu Wiles’ 21.5.800 challenge, but, you know … stuff happens and I’ve been thinking this would be a long post and I just haven’t been able to sit into it. Mostly though I’m sure it’s because things haven’t gone exactly according to plan.

Initially, I was planning to do the 800 words per day, plus 4 days of 20 minutes of savasana per week, plus 1 hour doing yoga with a dvd per week.

In reality:
Yes, I have done the 800 words per day (hurrah!)
I’ve only done the savasana 3 times! And no yoga dvd! Oh deary me.

Luckily this is something I’m aiming to continue indefinitely, not just for the 21 days, but I think that might be part of the problem, because it feels a little daunting. Amazing, positive, possibly life-changing, but daunting.

So, this morning I did my savasana first, because that’s what I haven’t been ‘finding the time’ for. If you don’t know what it is, Bindu has a perfect post on it here. Basically, it’s a meditation. It involves being still, connecting with your breathing and refocusing your self. I’ve never tried it as an exercise on its own before, but it’s relaxing and it helps me feel like I’ve got some balance back, emotionally as well as physically. Totally worth the 20 minutes. And yet, when I think of it and immediately before I do it, I get such a feeling of nervous energy! Being still and switching off – not reading, not watching a movie, not actively thinking about something – is really difficult! More than once, I’ve gone to meditate for 20 minutes, and wind up heading out the door for an hours walk (even though I’ve probably already been for one).

And so, when I get up tomorrow morning, one of the first things I will do is 20 minutes savasana. I’m not going to worry about the next day and I’m not going to think about all the other things I ‘should’ be doing (which, by the way, yesterday included catching up on Grey’s Anatomy – yep, that’s some awesome prioritising there!) I’m just going to do it, and then the rest of the day, including the 800 words, can unfold as it will.

I’ve really been enjoying the 800 words. I was thinking (hoping) I’d get straight into some creative writing, but I’ve actually been journaling a lot, which I haven’t done in ages, as well as writing some letters and emails I’d been meaning to get around to. And I think they’ve been clearing the way for some creativity – 2 sentences yesterday for a story I’ve been thinking about, in a vague way, for months! Small progress, but progress nonetheless.

I have to say, one of the things that has been helping me continue want to do this have been the brilliant posts by Bindu Wiles. I have also loved this post about Intention by Leonie Wise as well as what Yuki Murai has to say about being open to love, and all of Amy Palko’s posts are just wonderful. Check them out! I dare you not to be inspired.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. June 17, 2010 10:18 pm

    i reckon sometimes the hardest thing for me is actually showing up in my own life. because with everything else going on in the world around me, being only with myself (in savasana for example) is actually bloody difficult.

    i am cheering you on from over here
    x

    • Francesca permalink*
      June 17, 2010 10:27 pm

      Likewise Leonie! xxox

Leave a Reply

