Skip to content

Pin It Forward!

June 24, 2010

Well here I am, sitting in my brother’s living room in Canberra, having successfully moved my lovely cat from my house to his yesterday. It’s been a really busy week leading up to the move, but today I get to relax a bit, and just pay my cat lots of attention. He’s started purring again, which I think is a good sign!

It’s funny that the move happened yesterday, because today it is my turn to tell you ‘what home means to me’, as part of the Pin it Forward project, which has been organised by the lovely Victoria of sfgirlbybay, as a way to share and explore Pinterest, a fab new way to create virtual pinboards of images you love. I’m following on from Kellie of 74 Lime Lane, who yesterday shared what home means to her, and tomorrow will Candys turn!

Now, for the past 15 years, ever since I moved to Australia, home has meant having this gorgeous guy around:

Now I’m going over the seas in two and a half weeks(!), so I can’t take care of him, and luckily my brother has offered to take him. I’m going to miss him! But I know he will be safe and loved.

When I do eventually get my own home, there will be room for a kitty-cat, for sure. And a puppy. That’s the plan. And people, too, of course!

My home will also have a great kitchen, maybe one like this:

There will be plenty of space for books, and pictures …

It will be a friendly, welcoming space, filled with light …

With plenty of room for guests …

As well as space to create:

{Images 1 & 2. my own; 3. via Design is Mine; 4. via skona hem;
5. via uydurrukcu; 6. via Design Sponge; 7. via my teacups in peony;
8. via Meet Me At Mikes; 9. via Design Sponge}

Now then, basically, using Pinterest means that whenever you spy something beautiful, you simply save it to a pinboard, which automatically links to the source, so that you don’t loose track of where you found it. It couldn’t be easier! You can also follow boards created by other lovely people. You can see my Pin It Forward pinboard with the above images and more, as well as my other pinboards here, and then I suggest you go exploring. There’s so many beautiful images to be seen. And the boards are a constant work in progress, which is what makes them so fun!

Would you like to join? I have 3 invites to share – the first three to leave a comment saying you’d like one, including a link to your blog or email address, will have an invite wing it’s way to your inbox – hurrah!

Also go here to have a look-see at all the other blogs taking part in Pin It Forward!

8 Comments leave one →
  1. June 24, 2010 11:09 am

    This dreamhouse looks beautiful.

    Your cat is so adorable!! We also have a tuxedo cat, the large-and-in-charge Roy. Sounds like your kitty will be in great hands while you travel.

    • Francesca permalink*
      June 25, 2010 5:32 pm

      Hey Hannah, thanks! Yes, it’s been a nervous move, but if anyone is right to take care of Thomas, it’s my brother! Roy sounds gorgeous 🙂

  2. June 24, 2010 2:57 pm

    Another lovely missive from Francesca – I love that kitchen. Made me think again about buying these: http://remogeneralstore.com/pages/item.cfm?plu=1458
    I’m so pleased to see the cat has finally made the move and well. Next: time for you to be winkled out of home! As you can see, my blog is an idea waiting to happen, but perhaps a new tool will help me get things underway … I’d love an invitation to use Pinterest: I’m always reading people’s disclaimers “if anyone knows where this image is from, let me know …”
    Business as usual at HQ, btw. x

    • Francesca permalink*
      June 25, 2010 5:47 pm

      Pip! I’m excited that you’re starting a blog – I’m sure it will be ace. An invite is on the way.
      Those lanterns are lovely! I think you should get them 🙂

  3. June 26, 2010 4:56 am

    Lovely post! I hope your new home is lovely…and how grand your Kitty has your brother as a Foster dad!

  4. June 27, 2010 1:24 pm

    I think I’ll have to steal that bedroom from your dreamhouse… I want a bed set into a wall too! So beautiful! I hope you’re OK without your cat, my cat is 18 and drives me crazy with her yowling for my attention at night, but I love her anyway…

    • Francesca permalink*
      June 27, 2010 4:01 pm

      Thanks! I love him to bits and I’m going to miss him, but it’s definitely for the best! xo

Leave a Reply

