Skip to content

Saturday Snippets

June 26, 2010

I got 87% in my driving test! According to Australian universities, that’s a kick-arse high distinction! Unfortunately, according to the Roads and Traffic Authority, that’s a big fat FAIL. Yup, I was 3% short of passing, dammit, and won’t be able to try again before I go away. Grrr. I have to admit, I was feeling pretty sorry for myself and – even more – guilty for failing for a couple of days before I remembered to dust myself off and breathe and smile. I think the above print from the Wheatfield is a good reminder, don’t you?

Singer Jon Boden has just launched A Folk Song A Day. Every day for one year he “will post a traditional song online to promote the art of ‘social’ (or communal) singing”. The songs are available, free, through itunes – click here to subscribe. How great is that? (via Me and My Big Mouth)

The thought of bees dying out scares me. We need them! I like the idea of these beehives for urban apiculture. (via Sas’ Magical Mystery Tour)

Gorgeous granny square necklaces by Victoria Mason are now on sale. Mmm …

I also really love this necklace by Novella. Why is it that I notice so many pretty things just as soon as I’m on a spending ban?

My phone is slowly dying, so I’m planning on getting an iphone 4 while I’m in London (hurrah!) I’m thinking this beautiful bamboo case by grove might be just what I need to protect it.

Bookhou at Home has a lovely giveaway on this weekend. (via poppytalk)

Reading 52 Suburbs makes me want to go out and explore Sydney as soon as I get back from over the seas.

These flowers (above), by Livia Cetti are made out of paper! Some people are just so creative and clever, aren’t they? (via Calico & Co)

Canberra is cold! I wish I had one of these scarves to keep me warm, or perhaps a tent made out of beautiful blankets to camp out in.

Happy (warm) weekend, wherever you are!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. June 27, 2010 2:10 pm

    Thanks for the Saturday Snippets Francesca – I really look forward to them. Sorry to hear about your driving test. Driving tests are surely the most nerve-wracking of all tests and it’s hard not to feel disappointed when you are so proficient at everything else in your life (as I’m sure you are)! I think breathe and smile is good advice for us all.
    P.S: Thanks for adding me to your sidebar!!

    • Francesca permalink*
      June 27, 2010 3:58 pm

      Thanks Caz! The worst part was I was feeling relatively good and calm and confident and was pretty sure I’d passed!

      I had been meaning to update my sidebar for so long – it’s a pleasure to include you!

  2. June 28, 2010 8:48 pm

    Hello Francesca!
    Just dropped in to see what you’ve been up to.
    Sorry to hear about the driving test. Odd thing is when I took my 1st test, I was sure I’d passed…no such luck I failed miserably, on my 2nd one I was sooo nervous & went into a bit of a skid on the emergency stop…thought I’d failed again, so just drove like I couldn’t less about passing, I just wanted to get back to the test centre ASAP! What happened? I had relaxed & come away with a pass!! So good luck for next time!

    • Francesca permalink*
      July 1, 2010 3:13 pm

      Thanks Lesley! That was actually my second try! The first one was a nervous disaster, this one I was feeling much better, so I have no idea what’ll happen next time! xo

Leave a Reply

