Skip to content

Wise Words

July 1, 2010

I got back from our nations largest roundabout capitol yesterday afternoon, and already I’m having withdrawals from Thomas the wonder kitty-cat. It was strange being there at my brother’s house for the week. I had planned to do things; blogging things and other writing things and cooking things, but in the end I did very little. I wasn’t even thinking that much about what I should be doing; the time just seemed to pass very quickly. It felt kind of like I was in limbo, neither here nor there, so I wound up mostly watching dvd’s, eating chocolate and paying lots of attention to Tom.

Maybe that’s what I needed, but now what I need is to shake it off and gear up for the trip. (10 days and counting!)

More often, overthinking is the reason I don’t get stuff done. I am a master procrastinator; too too often I think too much and tie myself in knots, setting things aside until I feel calmer, more ready, maybe next week. Are you like that as well? If yes, I think you should pop over to Mike’s and read the smart stuff that Pip has to say about overcoming the overthinking and jumping into creating, stuff like this: “I think we owe it to ourselves to take a deep breath and make something anyway” and “let’s remember to have fun, enjoy the process and trust in our own abilities.” Wise words worth remembering! And it’s true – often times for me, when I remember to shake things off (usually with the words “fuck it”, which seem to act like a switch), I produce my best work and have the most fun!

Susannah Conway has written a few wise words of her own this week, with a cracker of a post about life and letting go. I don’t let go enough. I think everyone probably has a little list of things to let go of – big and small, general and specific – perhaps it’s worth taking Susannah’s lead and writing them down? One of the only things I did write this week was a list of the things I was feeling guilty and fearful about (PMS was running rampant). Writing the list actually helped alleviate the anxiety (that and a hot chocolate), but I think the next thing is to acknowledge that those feelings are real and are there – usually far enough in the background to be ignored, but there nonetheless; the PMS just brought them out to play – and then make a new list, to help the process of letting go of them. Because there’s nothing really there that I can turn into something productive – all they are doing is wrapping themselves around me, tying up my hands and my heart and holding me back.

Letting go and jumping in and creating. These are good priorities I think!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. July 2, 2010 2:18 am

    Excellent priorities. And I think taking yourself (oneself) seriously enough to value the time in creating seems important.

    And adorable kitties.

    • Francesca permalink*
      July 2, 2010 8:55 am

      Always the kitties! Thanks Hannah! xo

Leave a Reply

