Skip to content

Saturday Snippets

July 3, 2010

{Paper airplane by Claire Wise}

It’s July! If you need a new calendar for your desktop, I think this one is pretty lovely. (via forty-sixth at grace)

Wait a minute, I’m flying to the UK in July! Hang on, I’m flying to the UK next weekend! It’s the final countdown! Hurrah! Also, eeeeeek!

Feel free to call me a gleek, but I’m really happy I’ll be here to see the final episode of Glee on Thursday.

Also, feel free to call me a geek, but I’m kind of bummed that I’m going to miss the final episode of Dr Who.

Just added to my list of places in Australia I want to visit when I get back home, David Bromley‘s ‘shed’ in Daylesford, a magnificent space you can explore and buy Bromley’s work. I’m a big fan, particularly of his nostalgia-filled images of children like the one below. The Dalyesford studio includes an army tent, which I easily imagine the kids from his paintings camping out in. (via The Design Files)

{Sunday by David Bromley, 2007, via Daily Serving}

Last night I roasted a beautiful chicken using a recipe from David Herbert’s The Really Useful Cookbook – I snagged a copy when I reviewed it last year and I think it’s the best cookbook I’ve come across since then (and I’ve come across a few!)

I’m liking these cake/coffee stencils muchly, more and more every time I look at them actually … mmm. (via curbside style)

I’m kind of in love with this coffee table makeover over at Sticks and Bricks. Liz hammered(!) in the letters of the poem A summer day by Mary Oliver. Wow. (via Design*Sponge)

Blue Marble Ice Cream in Brooklyn has has established a non-profit organisation called Blue Marble Dreams to help communities in developing countries establish ice cream parlours. The two main aims of the project are to use “happiness as a part of development” and create “sustainable business ventures to bring income and employment.” Employment, happiness and ice cream? Such a good idea. (via 3things Australia)

Need to put more ‘soul’ in your writing? Justine of Tribal Writer shares 5 tips over here, which I think makes good sense. I particularly like number 4: “Give yourself 20 minutes to write the scene…and go!” I used to do that in art class – the best sketches always came from being given a short space of time to do them – there was no time to overthink things.

The above cute-as bookplate by Helen Dardik is available to download from her blog Orange You Lucky! Nice! (via Calico & Co)

Design*Sponge has a killer giveaway on this weekend of a set of breathtakingly beautiful Faber poetry books. Sigh!

I need a new story to read on the plane, something light and engaging – I’m thinking maybe Jasper Fforde’s Shades of Grey or David Mitchell’s Cloud Atlas (too heavy?) Have you read them? Do you have any suggestions?

It’s a lovely day in Sydney today – full of sunshine, hopefully not too cold – I’m off out to soak it up. Have a wonderfully shiny and fun weekend lovelies!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. July 5, 2010 9:58 pm

    Isn’t David Bromley’s work fabulous. I love those stencils too. I have one of David Herbert’s cookbooks too and use it regularly for good basic recipes.

    I hope that your preparations for the big trip are coming along – very exciting!

  2. Francesca permalink*
    July 6, 2010 10:14 am

    Thanks Caz! After the past month sped by things now seem to be progressing slowly but steadily, so I should be ready by Sunday – although I feel like there’s things I’m forgetting to do!

  3. Sarah Kelly permalink
    July 7, 2010 1:55 pm

    I just finished Shades of Grey. I love the way Jasper Fforde creates a world that is almost possible, but absurd enough to be enjoyable. I found it heavier going than his other series’. Also, I took the book too and from the UK in May and didn’t read a word of it… turns out I only had energy enough for the lame movies available…

    I hope that helps you make a decision. Hmm, perhaps you have already left.

    This is the first time I have been to your blog. I am enjoying it.

    Thanks!

    Sarah

    • Francesca permalink*
      July 8, 2010 9:34 am

      Thanks for commenting Sarah! And welcome to the blog – it’s nice to ‘meet’ you!

      I haven’t left yet! That’s good to know about Shades of Grey – I might wait until I get to the UK to get it. I know exactly what you mean about only having energy for the movies, but I always forget before a flight … I think I might just take something light and well loved.

      Cheers! xxox

  4. July 8, 2010 5:53 pm

    good lord… this was such a juicy post!! I’m dying to tell spoonful readers about the ice-cream idea, how cool (i will credit you of course 😉 And David bromley sounds awesome – as in the shed, I know his art of course hehe and the cookbook and the coffee shapes… oh i loved it all!

    thea.
    xx

    • Francesca permalink*
      July 9, 2010 10:06 am

      Glad you liked it Thea! xo

Leave a Reply

