Skip to content

Saturday Snippets

July 31, 2010

{Squirrel jam by Hilary Bird via decor8}

Since I arrived in the UK I’ve seen squirrels all over the place, but haven’t seen any with sweaters and banjo’s yet. I’ll keep looking. If they are there, I’ll spot them!

I’ve been watching Jane Eyre (again) on dvd. I get caught up so easily with Jane and Mr Rochester and Blanche Ingram and the madwoman in the attic and that proposal scene. It’s so good! Have you seen it? Or read it? I think I might have to read it again now – hmm, yes I think I will!

For the most part, I don’t like working in an office; I think that’s partly why I’ve been freelancing for a while – even though I still have to go into the office 95% of the time, I still have the illusion of freedom. But I think I wouldn’t mind so much if I was working in one like the Moleskine office. Phwoar. (via @photobird)

This cupcake cosy (above) over at kootoyoo is rad. I want one! Or 6! The how-to instructions are over here. Maybe I might give it a go. Maybe you might too?

Wise words from Iain Banks: “Writing is like everything else: the more you do it the better you get. Don’t try to perfect as you go along, just get to the end of the damn thing. Accept imperfections. Get it finished and then you can go back. If you try to polish every sentence there’s a chance you’ll never get past the first chapter.” (from the fab site advice to writers) Note to self, write more, worry less.

There is a very good and thought provoking article here about cultural policy in Australia and the need for a holistic approach.

I saw a very convincing Captain Jack Sparrow at Covent Garden this week (I know, I’m such a tourist!) and that same day I came home and saw this teaser for the next installment. Waddya think? Is a fourth PotC a good idea? Hmmm. I’m not sure.

What I am sure about is that I’m going to see Inception this week. Yes indeedy, I think it looks bloody awesome.

Right then. Out into this misty day I go! Happy weekend everyone! xo

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

