Skip to content

More Edinburgh Letters

September 2, 2010

Dear Black Medicine Cafe, Thanks for serving really good coffee, bagels and homemade lemonade. And thanks, too, for always having a spot for me to sit and gaze out of the window and, even though you were busy, never making me feel as though I had to hurry on as soon as I’d finished eating. If I ever open a cafe I would like it to be quite a bit like you.

Dear boy I met in line for The Ukulele Project, Thanks for introducing me to the Black Medicine Cafe after the show. You seemed very nice and I’m sorry I wasn’t attracted to you. Good luck with everything!

Dear The Ukulele Project, You were lots of fun and reminded me how much I’d like to learn to play the ukulele. Muchas gracias!

Dear 58 steps leading up to the flat, I’ll be honest, at the end of certain days, I didn’t like you one bit, but I’m sure you helped offset all the Tunnock’s Caramel Wafers I somehow managed to consume, so let’s be friends.

Dear Tunnock’s Caramel Wafers, Your sweet, chewy chocolate covered goodness is a heavenly thing to behold. J’adore.

Dear inner ear infection, You suck. I’d never experienced vertigo before and I never want to again, ok?

Dear random passer-by I had to grab on to to stop falling down because my head was spinning. You were very nice and I hope I didn’t startle you too much. Thanks!

Dear medical centre, I was so worried if I went to you I’d be caught in a traumatic tangle of hostility, paperwork and fees. But your staff were lovely and kind, giving me an appointment for that very day. The whole experience was easy and stress-free. Thank you x 100.

Dear weather, Thanks for only being crappy for 2 days out of 21. Sunny skies meant I could happily sit in the park and read, walk all over town and see lots of good stuff. Nicely done.

Dear Arthur’s Seat, I’m sorry I didn’t climb you. I did try, but was kind of exhausted and took the wrong path and didn’t have enough energy to start again. I know, excuses excuses. Next time, I promise.

Dear homemade sandwiches, By the time lunchtime came, sitting down to eat you made me feel kind of like Ron Weasley his first year on board the Hogwarts Express: Disappointed but resigned to my fate. But you were still pretty tasty and you did save me money. So, y’know, cheers.

Dear seagulls, You’re really really large, and a little intimidating, but I like you.

Dear seemingly random group of people dancing the tango in the twilight. It wasn’t a festival performance. Was it a class? Do you do it every month? I’m a little envious, I must admit – you were just happily, unselfconsciously dancing. One day I’d like to join a group like yours. Three cheers for adding something to my to do list!

Dear men of Edinburgh (or rather men in Edinburgh, since I’m sure many of you were, like me, just visiting), You’re a pretty hot group to be sure, and slightly eccentric too, many with wonderful moustaches. Love your work. xo

Dear The Boy With Tape On His Face, Thanks for being hands down the best show I saw at the fringe. You made me laugh, pretty much non-stop, for an entire hour, without uttering a word. I left your show feeling exuberant and inspired. Let’s work together someday, yes?

Dear city, thank you for valuing and celebrating writers! I climbed the tiny spiral staircase in the Scott Monument (the largest monument in the world dedicated to a writer), explored the Writer’s Museum and discovered statues of writers in your beautiful streets. Seriously. Awesome. Other cities could learn a thing or two.

Dear Edinburgh, you’re gorgeous. I loved visiting. I’ll be back. xxox

7 Comments leave one →
  1. avidwhistler permalink
    September 2, 2010 2:02 pm

    Loved this whole experience. Thanks for sharing!

  2. September 2, 2010 2:22 pm

    I just love your blog and am so pleased you loved Edinburgh so much. It is a rather awesome place. Come again. Soon.

  3. Weez permalink
    September 2, 2010 11:58 pm

    Dear Frankie,

    Thanks your letting us read all your delightful letters to Edinburgh. It really is such a beautiful place, I was completely captivated. I think you will have to go back there and find your nerdy husband.

    I feel truly sorry for you having to experience the inner ear infection. They are quite scary. I got one a week before the wedding. The doctor said that they can be stress related and asked if I was experiencing much stress at the moment. One week before the wedding I can confirm I was experiencing a lot of stress

    Hope you continue having lots of wonderful times and taking more beautiful pictures.

    Lots of love

    Me

  4. Weez permalink
    September 3, 2010 12:01 am

    ps. don’t forget we need photos for Globetrotter xo

  5. September 3, 2010 8:12 am

    Sorry to hear about the ear infection. I get them too although luckily not the associated vertigo. Thanks for all your lovely posts from Edinbrugh – it’s been a treat.

  6. September 4, 2010 12:26 pm

    This is such a lovely letter to a wonderful city … I can’t wait to visit!

    Such a shame about that inner ear infection, but it certainly sounds like you had enough laughter, fun, good food, and good coffee to outweigh the negative and give the whole adventure a seriously positive advantage! 🙂

    Onwards to the next exciting trip!! 🙂
    (I can’t wait to read about it)

  7. Francesca permalink*
    September 5, 2010 6:58 pm

    Avidwhistler: Thanks! I love your name!

    Nicola: I will do my best to return as soon as possible!

    Weez: As much as I would like to return and find my nerdy husband I am trying to trust that, despite my impatience, we will find each other, wherever I am.

    Weez: P.s Any photos you like, my lovely.

    Caz: Glad you’ve enjoyed them – hurrah!

    Tracey: Merci! Yes, you must visit as soon as possible!

Leave a Reply

