Skip to content

Never Let Me Go

September 10, 2010

This morning as I clicked about the internets I saw the new trailer for the film Never Let Me Go. It looks astoundingly good, and I was immediately compelled – I mean immediately! – to go and get the book. It wasn’t in the library, so I headed in to Waterstone’s, picked it up, started reading, paid, headed into a nearby cafe, and kept reading for the next hour or so, until my coffee was well and truly gone and I started feeling guilty about hogging a table while they were so busy.

So I came home, curled up, and read some more. I’m hooked. Why hadn’t I noticed this book before? I was vaguely aware of it, but if anything by Kazuo Ishiguro was on my to-read list it was Remains of the Day (which I think I’ll be reading next). Already I think he might be one of my favourite writers.

So, a day that started with anxiety after being told about a letter from the taxman (grrr) has been completely turned around. Plus it’s a perfect reading day – white-grey sky, slightly chilly, slightly drizzly – bring me my blanket, my tea and my story!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. September 10, 2010 5:30 pm

    Happy weekending and reading!

  2. September 11, 2010 12:57 pm

    An excellent read. Ishiguro is a fantastic author. Let me know what you think! x

    • Francesca permalink*
      September 14, 2010 9:58 am

      Thanks ladies! I’m almost done – at that point where I want to slow down the reading to make it last a bit longer 🙂

Leave a Reply

