Skip to content

Delightful Delovely Declutter

September 14, 2010

I’m still all up in the air about when to go back to Sydney (although I think it’s going to be soon). But, when I do, my number one project (apart from getting a job, but let’s not think about that right now) will be to declutter my wardrobe. My, what a magical sound that word has. Declutter. I did a mini clear-out before I left, and wussed out on ditching quite a few things. But I always have a good decluttering session when I get back from a trip – there’s something about realising just how few clothes and shoes you really need to live. However, this one is going to put all the others to shame. Anything that I haven’t worn in the last year, anything that doesn’t fit, anything that I don’t completely love, that makes me feel happy – out it goes! Hear that 2 red sequinned skirts? Yes, there may be a fancy dress party some time in the future when you may have come in handy, but it hasn’t happened in the last 5 years, so I’m just going to take that risk. Why on earth do I have 2 of you anyway? (because one has large sequins and the other small, the voice in my head replies – sigh) You’re out too, lovely yet poorly fitting jacket! And you, full length satin ball-skirt I bought on sale for $20 ten years ago and have never worn! Ten years! You still have your bloody tag attached! And you! You shoes I never really liked but thought might come back into fashion! I don’t care if you come back in fashion! I don’t like you! Be gone!

I think it’s going to be quite the therapeutic exercise.

Plus, if I can make some petty cash out of it, I will be a happy camper indeed. But if not, I will be content in the knowledge that other people might be making good use what I’ve let go of. Cause it’s doing bugger all at the moment.

Part of the reason I’m sure this is going to be an epic decluttering is because I want to get my own place early next year. My dad has recently decided it’s time to sell the house and get something smaller, which is really good. Now I was planning to move out again soon after I get back anyway, but on previous such occasions I’ve always left a good quantity of stuff back at the homestead. Not this time. So, useful stuff/stuff I love stays, and all else is out. The trick, I think, will be to do it as soon as I get back, before I settle back in with it all. Yes.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. September 15, 2010 4:29 am

    Me too!

    Plus, I loved this post: http://www.sarahwilson.com.au/2010/09/permission-to-quit-the-low-rent-experiences/

    Let’s all do this:
    http://clothingex.cart.net.au/

  2. September 15, 2010 5:23 am

    Haha … I love this (I can hear your wardrobe cringing in fear at your strong words). 😉

    Decluttering is always such a positive thing – I always find it gives a good sense of space and perspective. I’ve been attacking my wardrobe little by little, but I really need to take a hard line approach as well.

  3. September 15, 2010 10:16 pm

    I’ll send a postbag and you can send me back that ball skirt. Sounds fun. I did a big declutter of books and magazines to make room for one of the kids moving back in. All my Frankie and Dumbo Feather mags. They’re in a big pile ready to go to the book exchange. My fear is that if I keep looking at them I might just leave the pile where it is.

    • Francesca permalink*
      September 15, 2010 10:27 pm

      Oh Katie, all those Dumbo Feathers! Not sure I could do that. And just the thought having a cull of the books makes me want to curl up in defence. But the clothes – those I can deal with. And the ball skirt is yours! Consider it done. Maybe I can trade you for a couple of the Feathers? All I have to do is dig the skirt out. Eek. We’ll sort out the details once I’m back in Oz. xxox

Leave a Reply

